Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

2001-10-12

oh what a worn out art girl I am!!

Things to remember for Thursday when I will be art girl for FOUR HOURS:

1-wear sneakers, not 80 pound doc martens

2-wear short sleeves, not long sleeves and courderoy overalls

3-bring water

4-carry chapstick

5-bring a pen to mark down what is in the different rooms

I felt sort of ineffectual as a docent. I could not remember from one floor to the next where things were. Granted, it is a very confusing and very maze-y building. But I kept thinking I wanted to point out where the DJs were, for example, and I would get all screwed around and not be able to match the map to reality. So it was a lot of up and down the stairs.

But people, lemmejusttellya, there is some KICKASS art going on down there. In the dahntahn area. There is graffitti, and installations, and interactive this and that, and DJs and video artists and dancers and fashion shows and and and......amazing.

Some of my personal hilights--the things I can't wait to see again on Thursday, to see how they have changed and grown--

Gabriel's chill room(room four, in the back corner)--a pink lit room with candles and stones and wire sculptures. soft music and wax paper with candle drips draped around the ceiling. Very peaceful.

The silver room--can't remember the artists name right now but it starts with a K--whole room covered in foil. Silver bean bag chair. video monitors playing trance inducing visuals with a drum and bass sort of soundtrack. very trippy.

The madonna room--a tiny janitors closet with a madonna inside. you can't go in, you can just stand on the paper and look in the window.

the straw room---it has to be experienced. I can't explain it. Straw all over the floor, jarring soundtrack, a comfy chair where you can sit and contemplate anatomical muscular charts. It is at once the most comforting and the most creepy place.

the blue room--again, i can not remember the artists name(begins with an L) but the shade of blue which he painted the room made me so happy that I asked him to come and paint my house. Of course, I don't HAVE a house, but when I do I want him to paint it.

the slag room---watching the artist(josh? jason? again I can't remember the name) in his coveralls wheeling barrow after barrow of slag, with the tape player playing the rolling stones, was amazing. His room is now covered in slag and will soon have trees hanging from the ceiling and a drawing of pamela anderson on the wall.

room #2--the office paper room. I can not wait to go back on Thursday with a big pile of office paper to throw around.

the computer destruction installation--CMU students who dress in goth outfits and play goth music and beat up on old electronics with hammers. Way cool. DESTROY DESTROY DESTROY it says.

Had fun roaming with my internet friend. I really love the women involved and the architects involved and the people who are so into this city that they have poured their heart and soul into it. Goddess bless'em. I got to be personal assistant to a fabulous flaming fashion designer and I got to diffuse a destructive junior high school clay fight and I got to tidy up the bathrooms. And I got to PROBLEM SOLVE, when I discovered that the womens bathroom signs did not point to the right place. I feel good about my first night of docenting.

After my shift was over I took the partybus down to Garfield hoping to catch some film and music. Nope, it was cancelled, so I hung out with some artists and cool boys and then I came home to see the cats and listen to LIVE and go to bed early and wake up whenever I want to.

Ah.

Can't wait.

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com