Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

2001-10-18

I am so cold.

I cranked the heat when i woke up, like usual, and it doesn't seem to be getting any warmer. Ugh. The thought of getting into the shower with already frozen toes is scaring me. I think I will have to have waffles and hot chocolate before I can even begin to think about it.

Has a truly delightful evening last night. After work I went to get some wine (cue Billy Joel) and ice cream(hey! whoa. we never even got into the icecream!) and then went to ST ELMO's to browse while waiting for my appointed arrival time for my dinner date. The young man(I really don't even think he was gay, for shame) working there was not the usual pleasant and helpful type, so I felt vaguely ill at ease. They don't have art books anymore, so I gave up thinking I would find a book on Frida Kahlo. So I decided to look for the book by Pat Califia about transgenderism. Seems reasonable, right? Nope. So I thought I would get a nice dykey magazine with pretty pictures, right? Nope. Suddenly seized with despair, I decided I would just have to buy an issue of TRICYCLE from the front counter when I ran accross the WOMEN'S INTEREST section and there found a book called FRIDA KAHLO: a SPIRITUAL BIOGRAPHY. So I got that and went to sit in Lava Lounge and wait a little more for my appointed time. Dombis was there and he was giving someone over the phone cocktail counceling. Really, I don't know if this person was planning a party or what, but the phone conversation lasted the whole half hour I was there and it was all about cocktails. Love that Dombis.

I looked at my book and tried not to let the television get to me. There was some dumb WORLD AT WAR/NATION UNDER ATTACK/FREEDOM AND DEMOCRACY thing on. The interesting bit was when they said that minister Farakhaan does not believe that the US has any evidence that bin Laden is responsible. That just seemed to me to be a totally whack thing to say as your first public statement this late in the game. Not that George Bush of the Operation Enduring Freedom would have listened to anything minister Farakhaan had to say anyway, but it just seemed a little like putting the cart after the horse. I mean, don't say anything at all then, dude. I don't know..

Then it was time to go and I went to the adorable apt of my internet friend. She was cooking an amazing dinner of smoked cheese and carmelized onion quesadillas, marinated pork kabobs, refried beans and a little sprouty salad. AMAZING. Oh so yummy. I actually can not remember the last time I went to dinner at someone else's house. It was fantastic. We had wine and cigarettes and cable TV and hours and hours of fantastic conversation. By the end of the night when we had each polished off our own little soldier, we were flipping madly through her 18 thousand different video channels, searching desperately for Zeppelin. Singing along to whatever came on that we knew, including the Crowded House and the Zombies "Time of the Season". No luck on the Zep front, but we did get a little dose of the Hendrix before I had to shuffle off. That was nice.

Waited not long at all for the bus, had a pleasant and sleepy bus journey through town and plunked myself down and right to sleep. Ah.

Let's hear it for three nights in a row of heavy duty drunken laughing conversations. I am really diggin this one on one thing..

Can I just say that I am one of the luckiest girls in the world?

everything I want the world to be is now coming true especially for me

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com