Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

January 22, 2002

birthday weekend 2002: postgame wrap up.

OK, let's get this over with while it is still somewhat fresh.

Sunday=phone call with my sissy, cleaning up listening to Def Leppard(and yes, of course, although I did not put on the black slip for it I did have to flounce around and pretend I was in the video for "Love Bites") a little internet time, a little sitting around thinking about my wild and wacky life and laughing at myself(I do that alot these days!), thoughts of calling various people to see if they were coming to the birthday dinner but deciding not to in the end, J* calling after the football to say "Do you even have a ride to your birthday party?" and me saying "in fact, no", gettin dressed in black and purple with my thistle pin and feeling like a million bucks, going to the crossroads for money and cigarettes, arriving in the south side to see my lonely planet boy on his way to my birthday dinner, getting our table and getting our beers and having great laughing lovely conversation with J* and the lpb, faveboy and atticdweller arriving and faveboy asking if he may have the honor of sitting in the seat next to me, which I was only too happy to bestow, MIF arriving, and my honeygirl arriving with my Billy Squier album and J* and I going a little nuts over him, as usual, and then more beers and food ordered and then scotch eggs arriving and a feeling of having a nice intimate family of friends and everyone smiling and talking and laughing, and then dinners with salads and toad in the hole and shepard's pie and fish and chips and chicken and mushroom pie and english dip and more beers and the arrival of stealthy and his lady for beers and funny tipsy drunken chatter, and then MIF had to go and then J* had to go and LPB had to go and then it was a slow dissolving, and I with my headache not really in for much more partying, and so I got my birthday hugs from my sweet young men and then into the car with my honeygirl, who was tipsy and singing to me in her marlene dietrich voice and talking about getting a tuxedo, and then to my house and then I offer a Marlene cocktail as a nightcap and Billy Squier goes on and the candles go on and I know there aint nobody leavin that house until the morning.

And it was a happiest of birthdays, barely conscious of the moment when it did actually turn into midnight, and finally getting a little bit of sleep before the sun came up, and going for water and trips to the bathroom and coming back to a cute girl in my bed making me grin like--a mad scientist? a souped up jack-o-latern?

So it was morning and bacon time and after lots of phone tag we went with J* to our favorite bacon spot and I got the big man's breakfast and felt a lot less like a stud because i could not finish it, but the bacon was good and the coffee was good and the company was wonderful, and then back home and more billy squier and a good bye which took about half an hour, no time for a nap! and then out to meet my next date.

Squirrel Cage, met my highschool buddy and we had a little dinner and drinks and talking and she got me loves baby soft and I was ECSTATIC!, and she gave me money for the jukebox and I played a crazy assortment, and then on to the Record Exchange, where I felt compelled to spend some of the money people were preventing me from spending all weekend long.

I spent $15 and here is a short list:

wham!

madonna

isaac hayes

billy squier (TWO! one for me and one for J*){who loves ya baby?}

the time

inxs

power station

robert palmer

sheila e

slave

OH there's more, I can't remember. The most precious item I got is a record by the GALLOPING GOURMET on which he chats with you about making a meal for a festive occasion. Those of you who are not too young to remember the galloping gourmet might be interested to know that he was one of my first crushes. Along with Mannix, Bob Barker and Lilias Folan.

But I digress.

Loopily we walk to Gullifty's and get drinks and chat and laugh a lot, and my honeygirl arrives and says that the keyring girl can not join us, so it is just the three. And she gets a nutty irish coffee too, and we have a good tipsy time and then there is the dessert, and then they connive me into another drink and then they attempt to connive me into more drinks and partying, but I stand firm. I want sleep. I need sleep.

Ride home from my honeygirl and another one of those long goodnights and its all good, and I walk to my door grinning like a fool and I get ready for bed and then I get a birthday call from my new york rocker girl, and her news is fabulous and we talk and laugh and marvel at the ways of the universe and she can hear exhaustion in my voice and we hang up and the blissful long awaited sleep envelops me. Happy birthday.

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com