Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

February 05, 2002

Looks like it is going to be a sunny one today. Just keeping you appraised of the armaggedonish weather so you can be prepared.

I must say that yesterday's adventures in the polar ice cap were more than I could really handle. I felt very unhappy all day, like I had been dealt a very unfair cosmic blow, having to walk five or so blocks and stand in the freezing air waiting for buses which drove right past as they were too full.

So I felt all unhappy and miserable and put upon all day, between the polar ice cap expedition and my bruised and broken body, and then in the evening when my honeygirl called me from the theater she told me that she had almost been in accident that would have surely killed her had it still been icy, and then when she got to work she fell off a stool which she was on changing a lightbulb. So that shut me up real fast. Perspective is a funny thing.

Someone recently commented that mercury is in retrograde....and people keep having freak accidents. Be CAREFUL!! Everybody put on your hats and mittens and padded clothing. Strange days have found us.

So last night I was supposed to go and be a muse to my guitar artist but he had to sleep instead, so I had a coveted NIGHT OFF and I sat on the couch and watched CARRINGTON. It's a good film, with Emma Thompson and Jonathan Pryce, two of my favorite British actors. The story is very near and dear to my heart---Carrington is a woman who wishes she had been born a boy, who falls in love with a gay man who is attracted to her boyishness, and then they live together and both have various affairs and yet their emotional bond is always the most important thing. Those Bloomsbury folks had it going on in a strange sort of way. I mean, it sort of boggles the mind to think about the complicated social/romantic/sexual arrangements they were living out back in the twenties and thirties in "repressed" England. And here today in America we are supposedly so FREE and yet jealousy and posessiveness are the norm. Being a free thinking aquarius type and child of OOOOOOOberlin, I find myself thinking about this stuff alot. I find myself searching for this sort of happy commune ideal. Of course, as my honeygirl is always saying to me, my job really interferes with my bohemian lifestyle. That is what comes of being on the aquarius capricorn cusp. The cap doesn't really rear his goaty head except in matters of responsibility and job performance. Grr.

Still feeling a little sore and banged up, but generally much better. And tonight I have a bookstore managers dinner to attend which ought to be fun. And then perhaps I'll dye my hair.

****ED note: I was going to link to the lyrics to "strange days" by the doors here, but I looked at three different lyrics sites and they have the words listed very differently from what I thought they were.

I always thought it was

"we shan't go on playing or find a new toy"

they say

"we shall go on playing or find a new town"

what does that mean, exactly???

I am sorely disappointed if I have this wrong.

Was there a lyric sheet in the album originally? can anyone clear this up?

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com