Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

February 24, 2002

Mostly successes to report.

I believe I completed all of Friday's tasks successfully.

The opening was a huge coup. My guitar artist's stuff looked fabulous, and he sold at least 3 pieces. The other crazyman's stuff also looked fantastic, and the collaborative pieces were great. The fellow from Chicago brought some bizarre films and some amazing sculptures and the band was AWESOME (ZOMBI! ZOMBI! ZOMBI!) and Dark and Stormy and I had a very sucessful start to our new gallery catering venture, Ahrn Chef Caterin'n'at.(It'sa Pittsburgh thing) Our first battle for Ahrn Chef Sahside versus Ahrn Chef Larryville was the WRAP BATTLE. I believe that her spinach/bacon/waterchestnut/cream cheese wraps won out over my green chile cream cheese wraps, but all was enjoyed and devoured and people seemed to have a really good time arranging the little lizards and spacemen and gummywrestlers in the dips and fruitplate. I had a great time socializin and gettin my PBR on. Smoking in the CCCCCCOLD. Hugs and kisses all around. Hangin down in the bathroom lobby and getting a fantastic rubdown from my whiskey drinking honeygirl. Wahoo.

We packed up and took off and landed back at my place before midnight. Ran into roomie and goldenboy, who told us they were going to gooskis and asked what we were doing with the rest of the night. Giggles ensued.

Finally rolled out of bed around noon, showered up and went to the INDIA GARDEN lunch buffet. What an amazing thing. The place is totally decked out in gold and red and spotlights on the food which was DAMN GOOD, and there was indian techno and large screen indian movies and big puffy breads. It was delightful. We stuffed ourselves silly and I was more than charmed with the bathroom sign they had---one side was a typical stick figure man standing, but instead of a skirt stick figure on the other side, it was figure sitting down. I thought that was pretty awesome, especially after recently reading Minnie Bruce Pratt's> story about trying to decide which bathroom to use.

From the buffet we walked in the sunnshine back to the car, running into a potential new wave cabaret participant along the way. Then to Macondo where I found a beautiful green and blue tyedied onesie for the baby, a beautiful hand carved and painted hanuman statue, some purple sunglasses, and incense and a janis postcard for my honeygirl. Then it was on to the southside for the real fun---TUXEDO SHOPPING.

We stopped in to the salvation army and found a gorgeous 1940's military formal suit, it was sort of khaki green with black leather trim and absolutely gorgeous but a little too small. We stopped for a coffee at the BEEHIVE(two stops at the beehive for me in the last week--that is two more stops than the previous YEAR, I think) and then on to YESTERDAY'S NEWS, where we first found a cutaway coat with tails(too small) and then didn't see anything else.....so I was getting sad, but as we were getting ready to leave I saw a whole other rack of suits, and found for her a black wool tux in perfect condition, AND JUST HER SIZE. It was magic. She tried it on and it was perfect and we were both grinning like fools and it was LESS than she had expected to pay. Wahoo!

We celebrated our tuxedo score by stopping in to SLACKER, and then things got very interesting. I picked up a copy of BITCH mag with a big article on Alison Anders, and a copy of BAD ATTITUDE with, well, lots of naughty lesbian sex, and then we went in the back and they had a copy of THE LEATHER DADDY AND THE FEMME, my favoritest dirty book, my copy of which I had given to my faveboy for his birthday last year, right before it went out of print. SO I was ecstatic. I was also ecstatic to see lots of BI PRIDE jewelry, which I didn't buy, but I was really psyched to see the pink purple and blue bi pride symbol. I can not believe I did not know this!!! Has purple not been my favorite color, like, forever?? Cool. We got a couple of little alice cooper buttons and some caffeinated mints and then decided to brave the suburban nightmare and go to the WATERFRONT to get a shirt for the tux and some diapers for the baby.

Spent a lot of time being totally freaked out in the baby section of the Target, but found some nice little baby undies and some diapers and a funny card, and then on to MARSHALL'S where we found a lovely powderblue silky shirt to go with the tux, and then finally it was time to go HOME.

She tried on the tux and she looked, well, real nice. But I had to go to my LUPEC meeting.

So I went to LUPEC and we folded brouchures and made packs of drink cards and snacked and chatted and had a nice time, and then on to GOOSKIS for phase three of the evening.

Saw my faveboy immediately, and he was all excited about ordering some new Indian movies on DVD, and he made a promise to come to the LUPEC party since he missed the last one, and it was nice. I passed out a lot of invites and rocked out to the band and drank some beer and forgot all about the cough syrup with codiene I had taken at my highschoolbuddy'splace--until it was too late and I was sort of staggering around unable to stand very well. My honeygirl scooped me up and took me home and put me to bed, and the next thing I knew it was 8am and I had to get up for the BABY SHOWER.

Which is going to get its own entry, eventually. All I can say is I survived, and I am glad that I only need to glimpse these bizarre rituals once every two years or so.

Amen.

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com