Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

March 05, 2002

Wait! Before I even start---go and look at MIF's slideshow of Amsterbabydamn. There are some seriously rockin photos in there. Sistah has a good eye for color and form, no?

I know I should give you a little more about the new wave cabaret, but truthfully, I need to let it go for a little bit. There WILL be photos and commentary and song lists and all that jazz on the new wave cabaret site, which is going to evolve and grow organically. Like a carbuncle.

Ok, so I am a little grumpy about it. I am grumpy because even though it was not technically my birthday, it was still my birthday party, and yet I had to deal with rudeness and rock and roll egoes. Mind you, the rock and roll egoes were coming from bands which HAD NOT EVER PLAYED A SHOW YET, as opposed to the sweetness and consideration and helpful attitude of people like the LONELY PLANET BOYS who have released two freaking awesome CDs and toured, if not extensively, at least all the way into CANADA. I try very hard to keep an open mind in rock situations, but I have to say that the weekend did nothing to change my opinion of rockabilly types. I do know some nice ones, but by and large it seems that my preconceived notions that they are arrogant and uncooperative were borne out, at least on Saturday night. Plus, I was tired. Plus, I could not smoke in the bingo hall. So I was a little cranky, and therefore I am not remembering the night all that fondly. I am sure after a little while and once I have seen the photos and the video, I will feel better about the whole thing. I do remember being charmed to the teeth by Manny Theiner singing "Dalek I Love You".

Basically I think the two night new wave cabaret was a grand experiment. I don't think I want to do it again. If I do the New Wave cabaret again, it is going to be my birthday party which means only people I love and who love me will play, and I will get together a band to perform TATTOOED LOVE BOYS. Mark my words.

So, on to other tales of the RAWK.

Sunday night my honyegirl took me to my careergirlfriend's place for bunny rabbit and wine. There was also chips and salsa, and coca cola, and nice salad and a delicious roast beast. Yum. And later girl scout cookies! And lots of cigarette smoking, and watching of URBAN COWBOY, and watching of the Simpsons and some British home improvement show and a little of the food network, and then a kung fu movie which was not so much holding my interest. I was happy to be in the company of my honeygirl and my bassman and the atticdweller and the artworldtravellingirl and my favorite boy and careergirlfriend. It was a warm sleepy evening.

And last night, the Viragos began stage two of the groundwork for this year's aural masterwork. Really, I can not believe how easy it was to whip out the basic tracks for 6(SIX!) songs in four hours. Andy is such a professional and makes it all seem easy and smooth. Plus he smiles very sweetly. Tonight we go back and do vocals and keyboards, and then Wed night they will mix.

I have to say that although I did not go for the "When the Levee Breaks" sound like I had threatened, the drums sound REAL GOOD. It was sort of comical--there were about twice as many microphones as drums in my little drum cube. Including two floor mics, for that "british" sound. Hee. I can not wait to hear the finished product.

It was so very sweet to be drifting off to sleep on the comfy sofa in the control booth while the offthehookboy played the most lovely leads on the twelve string guitar.

So today is another day ALL ALONE in the bookstore, listening to WYEP and trying to get some things cleaned and prettied up. Tonight I go to do my vocals, and then home to SLEEP SLEEP SLEEP. I am taking Wednesday off---although it will not be a secret extra day, since all the people who might be tempted to tempt me away from my chores are working it will have the same effect. Hopefully I will have some time with my highschoolbuddy to catch up. Hopefully I will get the dishes from the opening done BEFORE the closing. Wish me luck.

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com