Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

April 01, 2002

Howdy!

As promised, a psuedo-cryptic, link-filled recap of my madcap easter adventure in the GREAT BIG FREAKIN APPLE.

{a few caveats: first of all, I have a huge friendly cat in my lap who wants petting, so I am distracted. Second, there is some sort of all star "Get Back" jam going on on the VH1 right now. I do not care enough to go look at it, but as the voices come on it gets progressively weirder)

So, I arrived at the busstation at 1:45 for my 2:15 am departure. NO WAIT! First I have to tell you that I got the long awaited birthday present from Japan from the favorite boy. You are NOT GOING TO BELIEVE what it is. Oh yes. Hee hee. Someone was feeling quite smug with himself when I opened up the foil wrapped package and squealed, once I figured out what it was. I was mindboggled.

And now back to our story.

I arrived half an hour early, and ended up finally leaving an hour and 45 minutes late. Somehow though, I still managed to get to NYC in plenty of time. Met sissy at the California Burrito and was instantly charmed by the guy in the information booth who told me where the burrito place was, and then by the guy at the burrito counter. New Yorkers seem to be all about tourist love these days. I ate my burrito and soon our other traveller arrived and ate his burrito and then we were off. We navigated the subway like superstars. We got ourselves to Hotel 17, checked in with the indiefilm extra at the desk, and freshened up from our travels. The room was lovely, in a sort of "nothing matches anything else so it all sort of goes together somehow" way. Then it was out for walking the apple expedition number one.

We headed to demeter for a little scent shopping. I encountered something which sent me into literal fits of happiness--WHISKEY TOBACCO. This smells so much like the (get ready for heavy freudian association, I swear I can not help it) tobacco my father smoked back when he smoked a pipe. You are right, I can barely remember the man from my childhood, but I certainly remember the pipe. Anyhow, I got that, and some CREME BRULEE because, well, because, and I got a special scent for a special somebody. Sissy got one called OLIVE FLOWER which was also delightful.

From Demeter we made our way to DOJO for some hippiefood, and then back to the hotel to get ready for GOING OUT. We hit the subway and were total rockstars and got off on HOUSTON and were trying to find Bluestockings, but first we had to do some serious walking before we figured out that on one side of Houston the streets were numbers and on the other side they were names. So, we walked, and walked, and then backtracked, and then made it to Bluestockings but there was a reading going on, and the place is tiny, so we could not shop. Just as well really as we had to go to the SHOW!

So we walk and walk and walk to the Bowery Ballroom We got there a little before 8pm, when the show was scheduled to go on. We should have taken the doorguy's warning that we would not be able to leave until the show was over, but we ignored it. We figured the show started at 8pm, and would be over by 11pm, and then we could eat.

But no.

The show started at 9:30pm, and there were two opening acts. The first of which was the kind of thing which I believe only ever happens in New York. I am not going to even try to describe it. If you really want to know, email me and I will tell you about it. The second act was an electronic duo from England who claimed repeatedly NOT to be the Pet Shop Boys, but I was not fooled. They called themselves The Plantains. They had lots of clever self referential songs about new wave. They were SOOOOO the Pet Shop Boys!

MC-in the whole night was the delightful Drag King Murray Hill. I recieved an ogle from Murray Hill at the bar in back and I was very honored indeed.

Finally the headliners, the sweetest most hardcore girls on earth, Le Tigre, came out and rocked so thoroughly that I forgot about EVERYTHING. I was so happy to be there in their world for a while. JD especially really hit me. She is just one of those people who radiates love and every time she went to speak I felt myself about to cry. (warning: if you look at the le tigre website, and you read what she wrote in the "keep on living" section, you WILL cry.)I can't even begin to describe the show and the cute little cheerleader outfits and the awesome videos and the beats and the megaphone and the synchronized dancing. Hee!! Hee hee! We left feeling really good. But really really hungry. And slightly delirious. Doug decided that we would enter the first subway station we saw and everything would just be fine. Thanks to his elfin magic it was true, and we found our way to Union Square effortlessly.

More to come. Hold onto your hats!

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com