Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

April 02, 2002

OK! Sit down, get comfortable. Let's roll.(oh. I can not believe I said that. Really, it is the kind of thing I might have said BEFORE in a sort of crypto-ironic way. Now when I say it it smacks of something entirely different. Ugh. Sorry.)

So we stumble out of the subway and first thing we see is a big red neon sign reading COFFEESHOP. So, we think, coffeeshops are diners and are open late and have lots of food. So we went. Thing is, this coffeeshop is really COFFEESHOP, an extremely trendy bar/eaterie. Oops. The doormen intimidated us like there was no tomorrow, but did not ask for our IDs. Inside people were doing what the beautiful people do in New York, and we just huddled into our booth and tried to ignore/surreptitiously ogle at it. We got the Kate Moss style waitress, who was very pleasant and attentive, along with the perky wiry scottish maitre'd. I had a medianoche which was authentic and delicious and hit the spot. Doug had some brazillian sandwich, and sissy had pancakes. Then we hightailed it out of there and down to the hotel. Sleep sleep sleep.

In the morning, we went to our "neighborhood diner" for a delicious breakfast featuring JUMBO baked goods. Yum. Then off for more WALKIN THE APPLE.

We intended to go to the Gagosian gallery to see J*'s lalalaboyfriend, but the subway got us twisted around. It wasn't that we suddenly were not the rockstars we were before, but it was the WEEKEND which means, in New York, that all bets are off. C trains suddenly behave like A express trains. There are "helpful" signs posted, but they tell only half the story. So the bottom line is instead of getting out at 23rd we got out at 72nd and went to the park. We watched people sitting on the IMAGINE mosaic to get their picture taken. We went to the sheep meadow, only to discover that the sheep had been removed in 1934. We walked a bit, but the park was being overrun by beautiful people and children as it was the great central park easter egg hunt extravaganza, so we beat it. It was a gorgeous day though.

Went back to 42nd street, the whole Times Square thing, to go to the Sanrio store. Where I scored a badtzmaru watch which is totally freakin awesome, he is on a motorcycle and the whole thing is very gunmetal grey and matte. Oooh yeah. Also got to glimpse the fabled Hello Kitty Rice Cooker, which is something I will NEED when I get my own place. Need, I tell you.

After hello kitty mania we started to walk a few blocks in the wrong direction, but it was okay because we got to see some NEW YORK STREET PERFORMERS which were these three dudes getting down on plastic buckets. I mean really tearin it up, freaking rockin my socks, on plastic buckets. I love new york. We realized our mistake and started off in the other direction.

And we walked and walked and walked, and walked, and finally found the Jose Quintero theater. Where our intention was to get tickets for the 8pm performance of Cloud Nine. However, having walked that long way, and arriving at precisely 10 minutes to matinee, we decided to be totally SPONTANEOUS and OFF THE CUFF, and we just stayed to see it. It was a very good production--I have seen it three times, and I would say this is my second favorite. I wanted to stay in new york and become a not for profit actor after having seen it, it was that good. Also, the people who ran the theater were absolutely gorgeous and nice. It was a dream.

So then it was time to go to CHINATOWN, to search for VEGETARIAN DIM SUM HOUSE which was not easy to find but well worth the trouble. I had never had dim sum before. Oooh boy. The name of the place inspired me to write the first of many punk rock songs about the weekend. Delicious. I was also moved to comment time and again about the glutinousness of most of the items. oooooh, glutinous. After that delight we started towards Bluestockings again, but in the back of my mind was a strong desire to seek out some bubbletea. Here I was in freakin CHINATOWN, after all. Lo and behold, in front of our eyes was BUBBLE TEA BAR, with delightful decor, poor english translated gleaming posters of bubbletea, and over 50 varieties. AND A BATHROOM! what more could we want!? We settled in with our bubbleteas and relaxed to the In Sync soundtrack. Bubbletea was everything I ever thought it could be. I must have more. Sissy was totally transformed by the bubble shaved coconut drink she had. It made her giggle. Doug was a little trepidatious, but enjoyed his raspberry bubble drink. Let us drinking the tea for 5000 years! For this glittering pearl! I love bubbletea bar. Definitely a must.

We walked for miles and finally got to Bluestockings, which was open, and which was full of things for me to buy. And I bought them all, well, all except for the Che Guevara coffeemug. I managed to retain enough sense to think that a mug might get broken and I could Always Shop Online. The place is tiny, with an amazing energy, and all volunteer staffed. The woman working that night was extremely sweet and very calmly handled the slightly drunken fellow who stumbled in looking for akido books. "This is a woman only bookstore?""Yes""So you don't have any books on akido?""Not unless they were written by women" I loved it.

OK, so we thought we would just go to the circus then, since we were big rockstars in the city that never sleeps, but the subway once again smacked us around cruelly. We were sent to several different stations trying to find a train going in the right direction before Doug decided that we would just take a bus. Which was it's own adventure, and fun, and meant that we got to see a whole lot of stuff we would not have see otherwise. Like LITTLE INDIA, definitely something to go back for.

Arrived back in our hood, freshened up at the Hotel, and then walked back down second ave to find a nice place for beers and talking. We settled on an outdoor cafe irish pub, where we talked about life over frothy pints of guiness. It was delightful.

After the guiness and the talking I had to get money, so we headed over to the all night Village Grocery and ATM palace. There was the most extensive and beautiful flower array in front. There was the most tiny cramped packed to the ceiling store, with bright lights and the MOST INCREDIBLE MUSIC pounding over the speakers. Doug and I could not stop ourselves from dancing in the cereal aisle. It was powerful. It was intense. I had to have it. We danced a while longer and wondered at the mystery of CAP'N CRUNCH'S OOPS! CHOCO-DONUT CEREAL. Then I went to the front and there was a man standing in front of a bunch of CDs. "Do you have this?" I asked, trembling. "OH yes," he said, "the green one." I picked it up. Dhol Foundation BIG DRUM SMALL WORLD. OH yes. It is mine. The last number, which is the one playing when we finally got out of the grocery, has 47 drummers on it. Incredible.

Walked back to the Hotel for our last night. Arrived home to some kind of Jimmy Buffet party going on at the end of the hall---not cool. Slept, woke up, went to our neighborhood diner for our last ever belgian waffle in the big city, came back to pack and say goodbye. Sadly, our indiemovie extra was not working, so we did not get to say goodbye to him. But we soldiered on, got our taxi, got to the bus station, and then my fellow travellers left me to go have some more fun on their own. I had a 10 hour bus ride ahead of me, full of adventure and sleeping. And then I was home, and I was picked up by my honey girl, and life was back to normal but somehow sweeter. The end.

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com