Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

April 06, 2002

I feel myself changing, in some deep and profound and some silly and shallow ways. I feel myself contemplating jumping into something of a chasm where incredible trust is required. I feel myself wanting to go to the show tonight wearing a long slinky leopard print dress topped with an American Eagle Outfitters ski sweater. I feel myself getting ready to try again to create some new outrageous definition of family. I feel myself gearing up for a full on metal summer. I feel myself falling backwards into motherlove and baby lust. I feel myself wanting to buy a whole slew of new makeup and change my haircolor back to a dark chocolate cherry. I feel like I am spending more and more time learning very important lessons from people who are ten years younger than me. I feel like I don't want to wait any longer to use my blue glass dishes.

It can't be another saturn return, can it? I mean, everyone gets one.

So last night was an extended excersize in why I love Pittsburgh and why I love my "scene" and why I love my life. I went to the strip after work, stopped in to Reyna for tortillas and guava paste and ginger beer, and was treated warmly and humanly by the man who works there. He always smiles really big with bright blue old man eyes and he always ask how I am doing and he always, always, makes sure to listen to my answer. After a week of half engaged pleasantries with strangers(also known as interviewing), it was very refreshing. I walked down to Prestogeorge for some cheese (dubliner irish pub cheese! a gift from the druids, I think. And of course norwegian skiing cheese) and jamaica blue mountain coffee. I walked across the street in the sudden FLURRIES(?) and visited ANDY THE SUSHIMAN. My true love. He remembered me as the girl who loves tuna and yellowtail. I ordered the DYNAMITE ROLL(tuna, yellowtail, siraccha hot sauce, cucumber, and roe) and some tuna and yellowtail sashimi to take home for my honeygirl. We chatted about his work schedule(he works EVERY DAY OF THE YEAR, except for the 7 major holidays) and we smiled at each other and he gave me an extra piece of tuna. I skipped over to the dairy and the produce and I skipped out of there with my bags heavy and I ignored the flurries and I was smiling.

Got home, made wraps(chipotle and cream cheese! guava and cream cheese! green chile and cream cheese!) and talked on the phone to my honeygirl and talked on the phone to my partner in catering crime, and tried to talk on the phone to my favorite boy but he was out for dinner with his parents. Gussied up, and Jilly arrived and we sped over to Squirrel Hill and we came in to a scene that was barely getting started. There was already a caterer there, so we shelved our trays for later and got some beers and mingled. Many of my favorite people were there, and many hugs and kisses and cigarettes were shared, and I just luxuriated in how gorgeous everyone is and how sweet and nice and funny. Really, I run with a superlative crowd! My gal was a little drunk and very businesslike, as always holding down the fort while the other folks worked and took breaks and worked some more. She is steady and on the mark and so damn cute when she is workin the projector! My favorite boy showed up in his big overcoat and german pimp hat, and was charmed with his AFROKEN keychain and filled with stories for me about pimp novels and black metal. There were so many people there doing different kinds of art, engaging in life, that I was overwhelmed. And then the Herbs&Spices wraps came out and there was much rejoicing and people gobbled them up. And we were proud and we felt like really we can DO THIS!

And the band played on, and it was a little too jammy for me, so I smoked a lot of cigarettes in the cold. And I started to form a metal posse for the SCORPIONS show in June, and then it was done and I returned home with my honeygirl and we had sushi and we tumbled into the big fluffy bed, and morning came too early but I was so excited to cook brunch and have a CATERING MEETING.

And the brunch was good, and the meeting was spectacular, and the afternoon was spent napping in the sun. And now it is evening and almost time for the big show, with more friends and beers and good good times. Amen.

but the only soldier now is me

I'm fighting things I can not see

I guess it's called my destiny

that I am changing

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com