Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

August 24, 2002

hey kids!

I have been buried under piles and piles of bookstore. Books, papers, customers, running out of money, getting more money, reports, files, employee paperwork, THIS MUST BE DONE IMMEDIATELY. Etc. I have the most solid crew I have ever had at the begining of classes(icluding my BROTHER, who is working out famously) but still, there is lots and lots that only I can do. Sigh.

Regardless, I have been having some good times when I can. I had an excellent time at the Human Brains CD release show. I got to see my boy who I had not seen in several weeks. He was in Alexandria working on a friend's movie about a kid who gets kicked out of his parents house and has adventures. It was originally titled CRABSHACK but since the friend had such a bitchen comedy mustache they changed it to MUSTACHE. Watch for it in your local indie film festival this fall. The Brains played their asses off as did Lorelei, who are playing their asses off all the time all over the city. It is not uncommon for Lorelei to play two shows in one night on opposite ends of town. A large part of the fun of seeing Lorelei for me is watching Thad and Dan wheel in equipment. It really is like the muppet brigade. At the end of the night I was SOOOOOO DRUNK(as i delighted in telling everyone) and I was sitting at a table with some boys. My honeygirl had unexpectedly turned up(she could not take another minute of hometown) and when she sat down with us one of the boys introduced her to the others by telling them about her guns. I guess this is how gun people talk to each other(it would be like Jimmy Page introducing Keith Richards to Jeff Beck by saying "Hey, this is Keith, he has a Les Paul 1938 custom with cherry sunburst")but man it cracked me up. Especially since I was SOOOOO DRUNK. I was very gratified when the crazydrumminsweetheart marched over to the table and grabbed my free CD, saying "If anyone deserves one of these it's you".

Even before that Brains show, there was the poetry thing. It went REALLY WELL, I have to say. Lots of people showed up to read and a fair amount showed up to listen and some people read some Really Damn Fine poetry. I definitely want to do it again with more notice and planning and time for coaxing and coersion. Given the rather slap-dash nature of the thing, though, it turned out great. PLUS I got to have a ginger lemon milkshake. Food of the gods. I did not suck but I think I disturbed or at least startled a lot of people with the intense bitterness and confessionality of my poetry. Most people were reading things that were a lot more, lets say, OBJECTIVE than my fierce romantic diatribes. But it was fun, and I got my poetry legs back, so now there is no stopping me.

Last night, I went to see Le Tigre. I hope to be able to devote a whole entry to that at some point, but for now I will just say that those girls are precious.

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com