Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

September 24, 2002

NO one has ever kicked the amount of paperwork ass I have just finished kicking. Giant mounds of paperwork ass, firmly kicked. Signed, sealed, delivered, copied, stapled and filed.

I rule.

I also rule the stuffed grape leaves world, with my secret vegetarian recipe including black olives, golden and brown raisins, and ground walnuts. Not to mention the brown and sticky sweet rice. Oooh, the world of stuffed grape leaves is my oyster.

This weekend on a whirlwind thriftstore excursion, I picked up one of these. Although it is not the magical hand crank appliance of my dreams, it made much quicker work of the two giant zuchinis than I would have with my regular box grater. And plus it is just so shiny, high and low tech at the same time. And plus, it apparently MAKES ICE CREAM. Although I did not get instructions with it, so I am going to have to wing it in the ice cream making department. Maybe I can get just the instuctions on EBAY.

So, aside from the spontaneous trip to the thrift store(Which also yielded a ceramic fondue crock and a nice silver plated shell-shaped serving set{say that ten times fast!!!}), there was the trip to the Krishna temple. Which was fraught with morality tales. Sit down, children.

When the battery light comes on in the car, even when you are pretty confident that your battery is fine---do not ignore it.

When you read the manual and it says "when your battery light comes on get the car serviced immediately"--do not ignore it.

When you are toolin down the back country road and the birds are singin and Bjork is singing and the sun is shining and the car suddenly just STOPS--be thankful you are less than a mile from the nearest exit.

When you see a trailer at the top of the hill, and you decide to scale the hill to call triple A, dont be too surprised when the lady in there doesnt have a phone.

When the nice Christian boy stops on his way to church to jump your car, do not tell him you and your girlfriend are heading for the Krishna temple. Tell him you are taking a drive in the country.

When the surly redneck tows you back to the Texaco, and then takes parts out of your car and drives away, ask what is going on.

When the surly redneck comes back with a new alternator and only charges you for parts, thank him profusely.

And thank Krishna, and Jesus.

And when you get to the Krishna temple, and the devotees are jumping around having a hell of a time praising God, consider yourself lucky to live in this world.

And when you get some nice blessed foods, and sit down under a tree and see a fellow heading toward you who looks A LOT like Jesus, realize you are doing the right thing.

The proof of the pudding is in the eating, as George Harrison once said.

I have a Jagganath T shirt. And a Krsnaland game. And some nice memories. That place was something special.

And moving forward, there is lots of catering to be done. There are pies to be baked, sometime soon. There are fluffy bathrobes to be wrapped up in and coffee with chicory to sip and cool tunes to calm me down.

Did I say life is good?

OH--and on top of it all, Patti Smith.

It's a good time.

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com