Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

October 22, 2002

First off, a bit of warning: there is no way to eat a cinnamon sticky bun without covering your mouse and keyboard in goo. Doesn't matter how careful you are with the wax paper or the napkins. Even a wetnap will not make a big difference. Just live with the fact that you are going to have to do major cleanup afterwards.

Now, an admonition: if you live in Pittsburgh and you didn't have a DAMN GOOD REASON not to be at the showing of GYPSY 83 last night, shame on you. It was one of the most touching and brilliant films I have seen in a while. The little goth boy in the film was beyond beautiful. I mean it. I mean it made me cry just to look at him, beyond all the things that happen to him in the movie. The movie also reminded me so much of my own suffering in a small town in Ohio, and my own teenage Stevie Nicks obsession, and my own gay boyfriends. It is something else. I don't know if you can find it on video but if you can, do. You won't regret it.

So, before I went to see Gypsy 83(with way less than half the theater filled, people---why such low turnouts for the LGfilmfest???) I went to Smithfield Cafe and bought myself a salmon dinner. Just been craving the salmon these days, and it hit the spot. Before that I went to Burlington Coat Factory and bought myself SHIRTS WITH LONG SLEEVES. I have finally given in to the fact that I can not wear sleeveless teeshirts all winter long. I will be cold. So I got 8 long sleeved shirts, and a sweater, and a pair of flannel jammies with rainbows and clouds like I had in 8th grade, and a long flowy Spiceyspice colored velvet shirt, and a nice slate blue cotton bra, and four pairs of earrings, and the most ridiculous boots in the world(much stevie nicks foreshadowing--they are that ridiculous!)---all for $140. I was so glib.

And after the movie I put on my new stevie nicks shirt(not the boots---I will only wear them on a select few special occasions. they are that ridiculous) and black velvet skirt and textury tights and went to the Lava Lounge and had a vodka martini and watched the cooking and fashion shows. IT was a small but enthusiastic crowd and the food was delicious. I was glad to feel like part of this creative community.

And tonight---tonight I go to see Jello. I am excited beyond words. I am also slightly pissed off that Melissa Ferrick is also playing tonight. It is another one of those nights, like the Willie Nelson/WuTang Clan night, where I think I might be the only person for whom choosing between Jello Biafra and Melissa Ferrick is a problem. But I really think that Jello is what I need. That's right---Jello is what I need.

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com