Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

October 23, 2002

The number one best part about going to see Jello Biafra last night at the David Lawrence Auditorium at the University of Pittsburgh, was that next door in the other half of the auditorium there was some sort of greek related rally going on---is it rush time? I don't know. Anyhow, all these fresh scrubbed and bottle tanned and bleach blonde and teased girlies had to squeeze their way through the literal THRONGS of crusty punks, skateboarders, old hippies, and liberal college students waiting outside to hear Jello. The look on their faces, which would have liked to have been disgust but was too busy being fear, was priceless. I am sure that for many of them, it was the closest they had ever been to a living breathing punk rocker. I mean, literally having to squeeze past all those spikes and patches. I was amused.

And it was a good thing that there was such an amusement there, because we were waiting out in the foyer for over an HOUR. And I got there half an hour before the show was SUPPOSED to start. Apparently there were sound issues, and Jello apologized, and suggested that next time it might be a good idea to sell the tickets in advance so people can come in and sit down and get comfortable while waiting. He is a swell guy.

He said a lot, in the two hours and fifteen minutes I stayed(he took an "intermission" break at 11:15, and I bolted. I was worried that I would not be able to get a bus home when he was done if I stayed) He said a lot of words that reminded me of my activist college days, such as Nicaragua, and Contra, and hostage crisis, and Khadaffi, and Ayotollah. Stuff that most of the audience were not old enough to remember, I am sure. I was slightly nostalgic for my college activist days, but when he talked more and more about the stuff going on right now, I realized that if I spent too much time thinking about this stuff I literally would be unable to function. So I am an inactive supporter of activists, until such time as I can spend hours on end being paralyzed by the insanity that runs this country.

And then I had O fries, and then I went to bed.

the end.

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com