Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

November 08, 2002

Occasionally, I receive mail in the bookstore from vendors trying to get my to pick up their products. Most of the time, one can sort of see the logic(the class year key rings, for example, are a really good idea), sometimes one sort of wonders (the RESTROOM WORLD catalog, while vastly entertaining, was not really appropriate as we do not have restrooms of our own), and other times, it is just plain WRONG. Today for example, I got a flyer for a new book from PRECIOUS LIFE MINISTRIES:

The Preborn Christ: A story of God in the womb.

Let's examine it's wrongness on many levels, shall we?

First of all, I run a COLLEGE BOOKSTORE. Hardly a market for a children's book. It is a Secular bookstore---hardly a market for a religious book.

Also, the flyer I received has a picture of an embryo( a PICTURE, not a drawing) with a Halo CGI'ed onto it. I am not kidding.

Here is an excerpt---"You will feel the immeasureable love of our God at the moment of His conception when you see Jesus as a single cell person"

I am not making this stuff up.

I admit to being curious as to the illustations they show of the single cell getting there. But not curious enough to actually pick up a copy of this book.

See, I really do not hate Christians. We have talked about this before. I just hate it when they try to push their dumb ideas on everyone else.

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com