Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

December 26, 2002

Happy post holiday to you all! I am back in the saddle, gearing up for a long day of disposing of books. As in, putting them where they belong. I am not at all looking forward to the task but it remains the task at hand and by golly, I will do it.

And then, a mad dash to the store for indian brunch pre-prep ingredients. Tonight will be a flurry of pakoras and tikkis up in my crib. And hopefully the return of some of my peeps, with phone calls and stories and maybe even stop overs. I hope that everyone has safe travels back home.

So, the long story short is that Christmas was not nearly so abominable as I had feared. I actually spent the majority of the day in the kitchen with Dad, and we had a fine time and lots of good conversations. In the morning, there was fun present opening with the sibs, and I was overjoyed with my travelling martini set and herbal pack and traditional father dollars. I was also pretty psyched about my baby sister getting ENGAGED, for goodnesssakes. I am overjoyed about this because she and her fiance have giantly practical heads on their shoulders, and are not at all interested in any ridiculous displays, and are also very firm about not doing it until they have JOBS. Having both just graduated from college. Amen.

So, at dinnertime dad's girlfriend came with her two kids, the college age son being very charming in a deadhead sort of way and the 12 year old daughter being every bit the whiny, obnoxious, self absorbed little pain in the ass I had been forwarned about. I have to admit that she is encouraged in her behavior by her mother, and so it is a vicious cycle. I actually cut my visit short because watching it made me so miserable, despite the fact that I was enjoying hanging out with the family. Sigh. But it was nice to tuck in early to bed and watch some Melissa Ehtridge videos. Including the very sad in retrospect appearance on 20/20, complete with Julie Cypher saying things like "this is forever" and "we are two normal people who are very much in love." Boo hiss. Makes you think long and hard about the nature of human personality. And time, and change.

Another thing I have been thinking long and hard about is what nickname I am going to give the year 2003. As 2002 was THE YEAR OF FACING ONE'S DESTINY, and that worked out pretty well for me and also for a lot of other people I know. We got good relationships we were not expecting, and we got new jobs and new life paths, and we got houses and we got babies.

So how can I name 2003 to bring forth even more good stuff?

Any suggestions?

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com