Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

January 20, 2003

I hope many of you are off on this Martin Luther King Jr Birthday day, thinking about what you can personally do to make the world a more fair and equitable place to live.

Me, I am at the bookstore because there are BIGWIGS coming on Thursday and I have to clean the place up. We are also open because everyone else is off and therefore they all want to come and buy books. Harrumph. I wish I could be curled up in my big bed watching a documentary on peaceful protest, or reading Jimmy Carter's poetry, or something. But I will make the best of it. Don't you worry.

And tonight, dinner at Max's Allegheny Tavern. Yum. Every year for the past few years I have celebrated my birthday with a dinner at Piper's Pub, the Scottish Joint on the South Side. This year I decided I would honor the maternal heritage instead. I am very excited to have Saurbraten and to watch some friends have Hasenfeffer(I am spelling that phonetically. Go on, Laugh.)

Last night at the LUPEC business meeting, I was surprised with a pink heart shaped home made birthday cake with raspberry and cointreau filling. It was so pretty and so delicious and so unexpected that I came very close to weeping. Again, the fact that I do not have time to think about the fact that it is almost my birthday means that every time someone else does it is that much more sweet.

I got a cute birthday card from my newyorkian buddy that made me miss her more than ever. Birthday time is all about sentimentality, I suppose.

And I have recently been starting to concretely plan what I might do with the month I am taking to readjust between jobs. I am thinking about some serious home improvement stuff. I have decided to throw caution to the wind and resign my lease, with a few choice caveats(new security lights, new stairs, new fridge, new stove) and I am feeling like I REALLY want to do the things I have been envisioning for my home. I am thinking that with the help of my superhoneygirl and maybe some other people, and the construction junction, counter tops can be BUILT in my kitchen.

Just a teaser.

Oh yeah, if you want to buy me things, look here.

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com