Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

January 28, 2003

I am back from California.

Yes, the weather was beautiful, and the sushi was amazing, and I got to go to wineries, and I got to drink martinis and play the Ten Commandments Bible Game with some great people.

But the REASON I was there was to see my beautiful redheaded wondergirl become a priest. I did not know going in to it that she would ask me to be one of her PRESENTERS, a person who vouched for her character and intention. Wow. What an amazing honor! I had no idea.

The whole thing is amazingly beautiful. If you want, you can listen to it here.(you have to go to "sermons" and click on Jan 25th.)

There was not a dry eye in the house. I was weeping copiously. And THEN, the moment came when the assembled clergy(there were ALOT of them) all came up and put their hands on her, and the bishops(there were TWO of them) put their hands on her, and we all asked the Holy Spirit to come down and fill her. Man, I still can not think about that without tearing up. It is truly indescribable. I don't think I have ever experienced anything like it, and I doubt that I will again, anytime soon.

And then there was CAKE, too.

And then the next day she was really a PRIEST, and I got to go and watch her be a priest. Wow. She looked so amazing in her special priestly robes the church got for her, to match her hair. She was authoritative and benevolent, all at once. She was so happy to be doing what she was doing, and yet so serious about the awesome responsibility. I cried some more.

Over the course of the weekend I got to have some great theological conversations with all the religious people around, and also got to hang out and chill with good friends, old and new.

And yes, it was sunny, and I had wine. And today I feel like nothing can bother me too terribly much, because I have been somehow renewed as well.

Amen.

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com