Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

February 11, 2003

The lull in the updates means there is just so much STUFF, mostly work stuff, to deal with that I can not take ten minutes to type out information.

Preparing for inventory is a very intensive process. I could delegate a lot more of it then I do but I like to take the once yearly opportunity to really look at all the stuff that is in the store. Today my accouting gay(it looks like a typo, but it's on purpose! I'm freakin hee-larious, eh?) and I are going to attack the back room. Pull every box off the shelf and peek inside. Make sure all the MERCHANDISE is accounted for. I am planning to dig in today and stay late into the night if necessary to get it all done. A good inventory can mean a better bonus, which means a happier girl come quittin time.

In catering news, we were simultaneously cooking for two events and brunch this weekend. Boy Howdy. I like making deviled eggs and all, but prepping for 72 of them is no party. Shelling 36 eggs is not something I want to do again any time soon. Having your hands in icy water when it is already cold outside for the length of time it takes to shell 36 eggs....well. I am not a complainer. Let me just shut up and say that even in the depths of despair brought on by the 36 egg ordeal, I was HAPPY. To be doing what I love to do in toto.

Saturday we catered a party with a spanish, tapas theme. Due to an unfortunate table arrangement we did not get to spend much time getting compliments as we had to rush clear across the whole room, behind the bar, and through a door to refill anything. But at the end of the night we heard that there were compliments aplenty. And all the food got gobbled up, despite the fact that we ran short of plates. That's a good sign.

Sunday we had a really good time at brunch. It felt like it must have been really slow, but in reality we fed 93 people!! That means we are getting better at what we do. I made Migas and people went hog wild on it. Blew through two pans and would have blown through one more if there had been any more tomatoes to make it with. The lentil chili did not sell, however---apparently people in general are afraid of lentils? What is the root of this fear? Anyways, I think it probably sold pretty well throughout the afternoon and evening, and I did get what has to be so far my favorite ever compliment at brunch from a member of Gods and Earths, who told me that my lentils were delicious.

It was also a sunday where several people came into the kitchen to tell us what a great thing we are doing for the community, and for Pittsburgh. It's good vegetarian food, yo. I guess the people are starved for it.

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com