Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

February 27, 2003

I was all set to talk all about church---but today there is only one thing to say:

Thank you.

It's you I like,

It's not the things you wear,

It's not the way you do your hair--

But it's you I like

The way you are right now,

The way down deep inside you--

Not the things that hide you,

Not your toys--

They're just beside you.

But it's you I like--

Every part of you,

Your skin, your eyes, your feelings

Whether old or new.

I hope that you'll remember

Even when you're feeling blue

That it's you I like,

It's you yourself,

It's you, it's you I like.

I met Mr Rogers one time. I was volunteering at a viewing of the AIDS Memorial Quilt at the Civic Arena in Pittsburgh.

We were all standing at our various booths, when suddenly there was an audible buzz throughout the place. Hundreds of gay men were running around to all the booths, whispering conspiratorially--"Mr Rogers is here!" We all followed him up the escalator(maintaining a respectful distance, of course) and watched, silently bawling, as Mr Rogers paid his respects. He walked among all the panels(this was late 80's, so the thing wasn't quite so big as it is today) and thoughtfully viewed each one. I got to shake his hand, but of course I and everyone else was too dumbstruck to say anything.

I am sad today. But I know that I am loved. And special.

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com