Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

March 10, 2003

Life is GOOD!

I got the perfect baker's rack to put in the space to the left of the stove. This baker's rack features a wood work surface which is at PRECISELY the right height for me to work. It features a grid for hanging things, and a shelf for canisters, and a wine rack which will be convered into pots and pans storage area. I put the damn thing together this morning because I could not stand to look at the box a moment longer. It needs some adjusting to make up for the pitifully uneven state of my floor, and I think my honeygirl is going to braket it to the wall for additional support so when I get into a chopping frenzy I do not knock everything over. As if this were not the most awesomest thing ever all by itself, I also have the Butcher block cutting board that Herbie got me for my birthday, still in its box waiting to be oiled up. It will go so well on the wood work surface. My life will be forever changed!

So not being lazy is really a boon to me. Friday I got up early even though I was not working and organized my life a bit. I am working on getting my receipts in order so that I can figure out exactly what I am spending on catering. I generally go with a ballpark, but if I follow my ORGANIZATIONAL SYSTEM I will be able to cost them out for reals. And I updated that DAYRUNNER, and organized my new bag, and then I was off to chop at the quiet storm. Only I ran into an emergency soup situation, so I ended up making a batch of lentil soup on the fly, and then flying to the bar to meet with the LUPEC ladies for an interview. And then on to Garfield for Unblurred, where I got to see lots of friends and some incredible music. And then home to sleep, and back to work, and it was slow so I got to nap in the sun at home. And then back to the storm, where everyone was in a great mood, and Mama was setting up for her show, and I chopped a million potatoes and lots of other things, and then went to the co-op to buy SO MANY OATS, and then I had some general tso's chicken without any vegetables(drat!) and then back to the storm to make salsa while selena catalena played. They were awesome! And then, Mama did her thing and everyone was so happy---she was funnier than ever and looked absolutely dreamy in her various cabaret ensembles. And then after the show I made it home in time to see Queen Latifah on SNL(He fussy, cuz he a baby!!) and then sleep hard.

And sunday I rocked the brunch solo, fed 138 people, only 9 of whom visited the oatmeal bar. For some reason everyone wanted Joe burritos(eggs, black beans, spinach and cream cheese)I mean, they are great, but the demand was incredible and unprecidented for them. The migas made a respectable showing but I would have preferred to sell a lot more of that and less of the Joes. But there is no predicting the appetites of the brunch customers, believe you me!

Last night I was supposed to go see a hippy dance band, but I was too wrecked. So instead I watched a hippy movie(Dynamite Chicken) and went to sleep. The end.

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com