Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

March 12, 2003

I don't know about you, but I can not think about the war anymore. I have become officially WARNUMB. Last night I was sitting in a cozy little greek restaurant trying to enjoy some grilled chicken on pita with a delicious "creamy greek sauce", and I was rather riveted to the TV. I could not hear what they were saying(due to the fact that the Ms Pacman machine surrounded by screaming children was immediately to my left) but I could not help but watch all the slick war graphics and charts and graphs and talking heads from different countries. It was definitely train-wreck like.

Finally it was time to mosey down to the club for the show, and when I got there and dove into my Taddy Porter, it turned out they had a TV in there too. (I am reminded of my LUPEC sister Black Monday's rant on TVs in bars. Amen)I was able to distract myself from that one as there were lots of people I knew there, so I chatted and thumbed through ROCKRGRRL(which I must admit, despite it being WAAAAAAAAY more PC, I like less than WOMEN WHO ROCK) The opener of the show was a pleasant fellow, a local boy, and although he had a very nice voice and was very good at playing the guitar, he truly embodied all I do not care for in the world of folksingers. (being an alum of Oberlin College coffeehouse culture, I can speak to this subject with impunity.) His songs meandered and wandered, often sacrificing good sense for clever rhyme. I much prefer a song which tells a good concise story and has lots of words to grab the attention.

I tolerated him, and I clapped for his effort(and also for the fact that he asked the bartender to turn the TV OFF) and then Danielle Howle got on the stage and just blew me away. She is a tiny little thing, but she has one of those Janis-style belter voices that just runs right through you. She has a sort of Tori Amos like way about her with the between song banter and the flighty mystacism in the songs---but always just smiling and thoroughly entertaining. PLUS she makes jewelry!! What a sweetie. After Danielle was Django Haskins, who I also adored. He is another southern sweetie with a big powerful voice, great stories, and really good, solid songs. I was glad that he combined indie style with folk style very seamlessly, as if there were no reason why he should be selfconscious of either. A good night. My friends the Mophones(most of them!) got up on stage for the showstopper, "Will the Circle Be Unbroken", and it was a nice old skool jam. Lovely.

I would like to leave you with this thought:

EQUAL RIGHTS FOR EVERYONE?!?!?!?

what a novel idea!

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com