Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

May 07, 2003

It is by sheer force of will that I am here at all today. The temptation to run away and never come back was only narrowly beaten by the lure of a severance check. And believe me, it is only the severance check that is holding sway over me now. Any sense of "doing a good job" or "taking care of my responsibilities" flew right out the window yesterday.

Yesterday was hellish in so many ways that I have to actually giggle. I am not going to go into any details, but here are some hilights:

---three hours on reconcilling student charges FROM MONDAY

---four phone calls, and a chance meeting in the elevator, leading to the discovery that a misapplied payment from LAST APRIL is the cause of all my current woe

----actually being accused of stealing by the college to my boss

---being told, by my boss, to take back everything I had just said in the email he told me to write

---being told, by the college, that $400 of the $1000 vouchers I had previously been accused of stealing were suddenly "found"(I was not of course told this by the person who had accused me of stealing them)

---having to make four separate phone calls, including four separate trips into the backroom, to deal with myriad complaints of my long suffering UPS man

---realizing again that the college has not even come to sniff in the back room after I was told last friday(a week ago) that I had to have it completely cleaned out by tuesday(a week ago)

There is more, really. But I am not going in to it.

On the lighter side, I got my Robert Plant CD, I ordered 100 pink carnations for mother's day brunch, I did a lot of my shopping for saturday's catering gig, I scheduled a rumble with the gas company for next tuesday, and I got my photos back from Friday night. There are a few pretty good ones, one great action shot of the Pay Toilets that could make my photo career if I put my back into it(which I am not going to do) and a bunch of mediocre ones. The trouble is, I have taken so many pictures of the Human Brains that they can not help but look the same. I think it is time for them to get some new guitars or something. Maybe costumes.

So, did I mention yet that on May 22nd Yamuna Devi, authoress of my all time favorite cookbook of all time, is going to be in Pittsburgh at a chanting event? I am simultaneously psyched and terrified--of COURSE I will go, and OF COURSE I want to meet her, but she is such a legendary figure that I fear I will only babble incoherently. The chanting should be good though. I have not had a good old fashioned KIRTAN in a long time---not since we went to the temple last year, and that was not all that exciting for me because I felt a little akward and did not dance. (it was mostly Krishna dudes in attendance, and one guy who looked a whole lot like the swami I had a falling out with in Albuquerque, so I was trying to be inconspicuous)

Now---back to the hellhole. Pray for me.

when the swirling has to cease, behind the safety of a veil

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com