Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

June 19, 2003

You want the good news or the bad news?

Good news first:

I ordered my computer last night. It is going to be a pimpy Dell laptop, with a builtin CDburner/DVD player, and a wireless card, and a combo color printer/scanner/fax(sold separately) and a shoulderbag(also sold separately) and a whole bunch of other stuff that I really do not understand but which adds significantly to the pimpiness, and 6 months of free earthlink. Hoorah! My friend works for a mega corporation and she is helping me to get the computer of my dreams by ordering through her mega-company employee plan. Thanks pal! It is easily the most $$ I have ever dropped at one time in my life, but it will provide me with years of pleasure and hopefully income.

Now I just need to get the nursery all ready to welcome my new baby home. It should be here in about 2 of your earth weeks.

Now the bad news:

I have become extrordinarily surly about the Pittsburgh for Dean mailing list. The whole time I have been on the list there have been numerous annoying bickering fights going on, but today was a sort of last straw. I had written a mail suggesting that the Pittsburgh Pridefest might be a good place to pass out literature, because, you know, Dean supports civil rights for all citizens.

Many people wrote saying that was a great idea, and thank you for bringing it to our attention. Then one guy wrote in saying we needed to be careful about the civil unions issue because it could turn off some more socially conservative voters. I countered that passing out literature to people attending Pridefest, a traditionally politically disenfranchised demographic if there ever was one, is not the same as telling socially conservative voters that we support Dean because we want "queers to get married in the church"(an actual quote) This guy went on to insult the intelligence of just about everybody, while all the while making sure to emphasize that he himself, of course, supported all these issues. I have to say right now that if anything is going to alienate potential voters, it is treating them like they are too stupid to make informed decisions. My personal reason for supporting Dean is that he has made a promise to do what he feels in right even if it alienates people---he won't back away from an issue just to get votes. (oh, I remember Bill Clinton--believe me, I do. And I am fully prepared to have my heart broken again. But at least Dean SEEMS to be exhibiting some backbone, whereas the rest of the Democrats already seem a little wobbly)

It's 3:30 in the afternoon on my last day of bookstore babysitting. Three hours to go.

For the love of God, keep me away from the Saulsalito cookies. Please.

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com