Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

July 06, 2003

DANG!

So much news, not much desire to back it all up. I think I will just have to start fresh.

So here I sit in underwear, in front of the fan, on the bed, listening to 80s internet radio(currently "Cities in Dust") typing to you from GEORGE, my pimpy new laptop. George came to me all done up in silver and metallic blue, as if DELL had somehow devined the perfect color scheme for me. I immediately pimped him up by downloading a Ganesha wallpaper. Wahoo! I hope the novelty wears off soon, because I have a party aftermath to clean and all I want to do is play around on the worldwide internet. I have been forcing myself to take reality breaks. Go downstairs and wash a dish or something. But it is just so NICE to have my own thing, at last, where I can look at whatever I want and listen to internet radio and eventually, when I get a cable, I can even watch DVDs on my TV courtesy of George. George is truly awesome.

Hopefully George will also help me to make a steady income eventually--the real reason I invested a small fortune in George. His printer/fax/scanner/copier/dessert topping should be here by the end of next week. The room is definitely NOT ready---in fact, right now it is covered in feather boa droppings and some broken glass, and I think even a container with some fermenting hummus in it that I forgot to clean out(judging from the odor...) But that all happens next week.

Today I am enjoying my first Sunday off of brunch without being out of town in forever. I really am enjoying it too. I woke up early despite the fact that I was up laaaaaate looking all through the BLOWFISH catalog(I told you!!) and I watched some of the Wimbledon. I was talking with Herbie about the tennis last evening at her very chill and wonderful cookout---a bunch of ladies grillin in the backyard, and a chocolate mint mojito. Fancy! We ended the evening with a few episodes of Mr Show and laughed till our faces hurt.

Anyhow, the tennis. I immediately decided that Fedderer was my favorite--the greek guy's serve pissed me off. Too aggressive. Apparently my favorite won anyways--wahoo! I was never a major tennis head, but I did get pretty into it during the heyday of McEnroe. He was one of the commentators, and his dry humor made it all the better for me.

Working backwards, there was the danceparty. It was an all day affair, although it did not end up going for quite 12 hours. There were just too many other parties going on for it to reach the critical mass that would have kept it(and me!) going. But we did get some incredible dancing going, to Dee-Lite, the bootyphat compilation, of course the tried and true MonsterBooty, and my Herbie and I and my honeygirl channeled our inner fags to Cher. My honeygirl, especially, channelled her inner fag really well. Someone give that girl a whistle and a glow stick. Amazing.

My favorite boy put in an impressive performance, but he did not go the distance---mostly because he was travelling with his entourage. Still, it was nice to groove with him in the old familiar way.

There was also a promised appearance from my punkrock sweetheart, and it was great to boogie down with him a little bit. In general, a good mix of folks, lots of happy times, and almost NO destruction. Success.

Previous to the festivities of the actual holiday, there was the July 3rd rockshow featuring the Viragos and Paul Lynde 451. I got my drink on and my groove on and enjoyed the company and the dancing and the drinking. It was good to be home in the Goose, rockin out with the hometown crowd.

All in all, a fantastic holiday weekend. Out of town visitors, getting more chummy with some new friends, and thoroughly enjoying the old friends. Silver and Gold, baby.

The upcoming week will feature getting serious about a couple of things: the LUPEC Muse party next weekend, the Herbs and Spices extra special Sunday brunch (Spanish!) and a few gigs we have coming up, including some weddings! Eek. And I plan to start to update daily again, just to get back into the swing. It really feels good. I miss it.

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com