Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

July 10, 2003

THIS google search made me crack up this morning. I was really surprised to see, when I followed the link to my site, that I had not ACTUALLY said that Robert Plant looks terrible. Because he does sort of look terrible these days. I saw a photo of him recently and was convinced that it was not him at all, but rather Gene Wilder. It was uncanny.(although I think Gene Wilder looks fine for Gene Wilder---he is no Robert Plant.) I did see him at Wimbledon last week though(on TV, I wasn't there) and he looked better.

But he does look terrible, doesn't he?

I wanted to come right out and say it, so the next time someone searches for it they can find it here.

So, this morning I was big and brave and set up my biznass email account. Not realizing that for some reason setting up the new account was going to mean that all 925 messages stored on the server were going to have to download to my box. I am not charmed, and I don't think there is any way around it. It seems that all 925 are going to have to download before I can send a message. Thank heavens for 80s internet radio, is all I have to say.

Didn't get to the laundry yesterday(tsk, tsk) but I DID have a fabulous lunch. All that tapas research put me in a mood and so I had a lunch based around aioli. I had patatas bravas(without the tomato sauce) and blanched asparagus and tuna cakes and tomato and avocado salad. And I dipped all of it into some truly garlicky mayo. Delish.

I also did a whole bunch of research and calculation relating to the second wedding we will be catering, in October. (we still have yet to meet with the couple, and the mom, for the wedding in September. Eeek.) I am trying to figure out how to keep it economical for them(as they are artists and are paying for it mostly by themselves) and also worthwhile for us(as we are spending the entire day there, and now not just kitchen managing but also grilling chicken, fish and tofu) Portion control for tofu is something of an untapped market. Anyone care to get on that? I have a feeling I am going to have to get out the old food scale(do I have one? no. Can I find one? with all the weed smokers I know, I'll bet I can)and do some kebob mockups. I have salmon in my fridge already so that shouldn't be too hard.

So, back to the laundry. Today seems like a much less gruelingly humid day so it should not be too bad. And plus, I can go to the pub and have a beer while my clothes dry. I remember the olden times, when J* lived down the street and would come and join me for a beer while I was at the laundry. Or she would come and meet me when the laundry was done on a Sunday evening and we would head up to the Goose for burgers and beers. I miss those days. Sigh. But, you know, never say never again.

This weekend is jampacked. I have had to choose my battles, as it were, and I am not very happy about it as I would have liked to have done everything available in this fair city.

Tomorrow night LUPEC is hostessing at Cafe Allegro---serving The Russian to celebrate the feast of St Olga. I am unable to attend this festivity as it is also the opening reception for my friend Susannah at Garfield---her photos are spellbinding and I can not imagine what it will be like to see them all blown up. Saturday night I WILL be doing my LUPEC duty at MUSE, serving up cocktails(and onion tea sandwiches??) to celebrate some famous muses who went on to have their own artistic careers. Come enjoy a champagne cocktail in honor of my girl Kiki.

Saturday night is also the misguided pirate booty party. Misguided in that people should simply stop throwing pirate parties when I can not be there. This is the second(third if you count the pirate gogo party in Baltimore) pirate party I have known about that I could not attend. People, this needs to stop.

Hopefully my pirate-lovin soul will be soothed with a viewing of the new pirate movie this weekend sometime, and it will all be better.

Sunday is Spanish Brunch. Tapas-mania. Seriously. Can you imagine how yummy braised fennel is gonna be? Alongside a dish of figs poached in sherry? My tummy is grumbling at the thought.

Alright. Time to go try to deal with the rest of the 925 messages. Rock on, comrades.

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com