Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

July 12, 2003

Arrr!!! Arrrr!!!

Last night was pirate night. What an incredible thrill!!! That movie is something else. I went with a posse of ladies who were really ready to enjoy their pirates, and enjoy we did.

That Jack Sparrow, boy was he swishy. And wonderful. (after the film I got online to see if there were any quotes from Johnny Depp about why he made the pirate so incredibly gay. He said it wasn't gay, but Keith Richards. And I had to admit---there is a very fine line) Johnny has finally won me back over.

Barbosa was of course my favorite--the sinister pirate in the big feathered hat and lots of coattails to fly around when swashbuckling. And plus, instead of a parrot, he had a MONKEY. How cool is that?

I was not even intolerant of the earnest young lovers. Sure, the love story got in the way of the piracy sometimes, but they were not as insipid as the usual young lovers in this kind of film. I was very pleased that Elizabeth used the corset to her advantage.

My darling Jonathan Pryce looked OLD OLD OLD. I suppose he IS old old old, given that Something Wicked This Way Comes was made in 1983. But he was still very entertaining as the ineffectual old bat with the powdered wig.

The special effects were wonderful. And you know that means a lot coming from me. I am no fan of the effects. But the skeleton pirates were creepy and cool looking. Those parts really did take me back to actually going on the pirates of the carribean ride when I was a very young tot.

We thoroughly enjoyed the movie--laughing out loud, shrieking, gasping, and at the end, breaking out into uncontrollable giggle fits. That's what going to the movies should feel like.

Before the movie I went to the gallery, to see the amazing photos of Susannah Mira. Just mindblowing stuff, vibrant colors and subtle manipulations of image. It is hard for me to even talk about them in words--they were very ethereal and yet they affected me on a gut level. Wonderful.

And the Sarrogit performance was also incredibly moving--it was an exorcism of sorts, and it worked on a lot of different levels. For people who did not know the story, I imagine it was a visually stunning piece, but there was no denying the underlying emotion. For those of us who knew the story, it was cathartic. I went out afterward and looked at the moon and felt cleaner. I hope it was as effective for the person(s) involved.

Today is an amazingly clear, sunny, cool day. All I need to do today is get a bottle of sherry and perhaps make some onion tea sandwiches.

I made myself some delicious pancakes for breakfast---eggy and sweet with butter and powdered sugar and nectarines. And a big pirate mug of coffee. Yo ho ho.

I am considering ordering myself a tank top with Blackbeard's flag on it to console myself for not being able to attend the pirate party. That's what the internet is all about, right?

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com