Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

July 14, 2003

I will freely admit that although I have not taken the time to link to it yet, I spend most of my online time listening to Radio Free Virgin's all-LIVE radio station.

That's LIVE the band.

It isn't technically ALL LIVE, it is LIVE and some other songs they have chosen to play on the station, such as the live version of "Whiskey River" by Willie Nelson, and Johnny Cash's cover of "Your Own Personal Jesus."

I am not ashamed of my adoration of LIVE, even though 9 times out of 10 when I mention it to people I know I get the LOOK, like they can not believe someone they genuinely like and respect is telling them this. I can not really explain it, but I imagine it has something to do with my love of overwrought balladry ("Dance With You") and my respect for popstars with convictions. Ed, whatever you think of him, is a thinking dude. He went to the same seminary school as my old assistant manager of the bookstore--they both got thrown out for being blasphemous. Although I would never be caught dead listening to something that most people would term "christian rock", Ed deals with a lot of those faith in the face of the modern world issues. He is all about the love, maaan. I can not say enough good things about him.

When I first discovered this internet radio thing, one of my thoughts was "wouldn't it be cool if there was an all-LIVE station, so that I could listen to LIVE all the time?" And lo and behold, there it was. Most of the stuff they play that is not LIVE I like okay as well--or at least can tolerate for a song, before the next LIVE song comes on.

I'm being fanatical---I'll stop. I am just really damn excited that I am going to get to see them on Friday. And plus, I just looked up the word fijian. I would be willing to bet that Ed is the only popstar to have used fijian in a song. Not to mention placenta.

In other news, I just signed in to the NYTIMES site i order to look at a really funny picture of Donald Rumsfeld. (A hysterically embellished version of which you can see here,courtesy of jimmylegs)He is throwing his gangsign. Wouldn't it be funny if he was a rapper and not just an existentialist poet?

ANYHOW, when signing up for the webservice, I was confronted with the fact that I do not really have a job title anymore. So I chose "entrepreneur" in the "hospitality industry". I crack myself up. I also listed my annual income at an optimistic $40,000 a year. Bring it on.

Today I had my training shift as a regular team player in the QuizzleStizzle---there were hardly any orders, but I did prep the spinach(!!) and make a fine spanish potato-garlic soup. We had a groovy time listening to my mix CD of 45s from my childhood, including Hall and Oates, Rex Smith, Shaun Cassidy, and lots of Stevie Nicks. Times like that are meant to be shared.

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com