Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

August 06, 2003

This is what I think about the Chemical Brothers:

While their songs usually start out pleasantly enough, they invariably drag on and on and on and on well past the point at which I can say I enjoy them. By the end I am often gritting my teeth saying "please! stop! the! beats!"

I also feel this way about Spiritualized, although it is less about beats and more about drones, and Stereolab, where it is a combination of beats and drones.

On the other hand, through the magic of Musicmatch jukebox I have come to realize that I very much dig Groove Armada, Thievery Corporation, and Morcheeba. And these artists are in my playlist more often than the Chemical Brothers, so it generally works out to more happy bopping than tooth gritting in any given period of time. Hooray for me.

Also hooray for the Episcopalians, who managed to do the right thing despite all the threats of schism in the church and the other hogwash. When people start to talk about reading the Bible literally, I get a migraine. It's just silly. I mean, the book of Leviticus is in the Bible. Just try to read that literally and live in America in the 2Ks. It don't work. I don't think I will be talking about this anymore, but then again they still have to vote on the blessing of gay unions. So maybe I will. Go Episcopalians, go!

Last night I ended up having a totally unexpected and wonderful hour long telephone gab session with a girlfriend. It was funny because we both realized at once "Hey! We have totally been gabbing on the phone for an HOUR, and we are going to be spending the whole day together tomorrow!" The time just flew, talking about dudes and respect and emotionally availability and shit like that. Good for the soul. Reminded me how long it has been since I have spent an hour or two on the phone with a few other ladies. And how long it has been since I have spent any time at all in the company of a few good men.

Lots of times I start to feel like I am narrowing my world a little too much, but sometimes narrowing can lead to deepening, and that is always a good thing.

And so, I made my (non)decision about the restaurant thing and I sent the decisive email and now we will just have to wait patiently to see how it is answered. I like to leave huge decisions up to fate like this---given my track record, it is usually the best way. When I try to impose my will on the universe I am often disappointed.

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com