Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

August 08, 2003

Hello, you big beautiful world!

I am in a decent (said like they used to say it in California in the 90's) mood today, despite the fact that I am a little scratchy and sniffly from being out in the rainstorm yesterday. It was such a pleasant rainstorm that I didn't really mind being out in it, until the bus driver not only passed me up but sent a huge tidal wave splashing in my direction. Penn ave right around my street floods really fast in a hard rain, so there was lots of material for her to work with. I got all civic minded after this happened---I have been on this particular driver's bus and I have seen her pass up other people countless times. I was trying to figure out how I could find out her driver number and lodge a complaint and etc, but then my guitar artist boy pulled up and my pissiness was replaced with joy. We had a delightful chat all the way to the stizzle(which was about 3x as long as usual due to the rain and construction and heavy after work traffic) and during that convo we entertained the idea that maybe he could be my downstairs neighbor. That would be the BOMBDIGGITY!! Not only would it be swell to have a good buddy down there instead of some shifty-eyed drifter, it would be swell to be able to put a washer and dryer in the basement and it would also be swell to be able to(as Herbie put it) keep tabs on him. It would be so all the fun of having a housemate without having to actually share a living space with anyone. Rock on! I hope it all works out.

I finally got my drenched ass to the stizzle(only to find that the socks and tennies I had so cleverly packed in a bag to change into were soaked as well) and we had our kitchen meeting, and I made TWO ORDERS(all night long, two orders) and I did a little cleaning and reorganizing and refilling and I made a kick ass curry soup. Red lentils, onions, peppers, ginger, coconut, spinach, lemon and tamarind and curry spice. Dang, it's good. Herbie told one of the other cooks to "make it look like a soup you would want to eat" and I took that to heart. It is golden with flecks of green and red and white in it. Precious. I actually DID sit down and eat a bowl of it before tackling my dishwashing. Yum. I love myself. It's true.

I could not help ruminating about how I truly belong in a hippie vegetarian kitchen though. I can pull off the upscale classy thing, for sure, but the kind of cooking that satisfies my soul is funky downhome vegetarian global stylee. I think that things are going to work out for the best. Indeed.

Spent a long morning going over massive wedding details for one of the two weddings we are catering in the next two months. It is going to be a gorgeous affair, the grounds of the house are very nice and there is a pool and a giant willow tree and the menu is looking really good. There is some stress between the parents and the bride to be, and the groom seems pretty disenfranchised. He will have couscous at his wedding dinner if I have anything to say about it, that's for sure. The whole experience reminded me a bunch of my own wedding planning situation, but luckily my groom's uptight Catholic parents just opted out of the whole deal and we got to do whatever we wanted. I think there should just be a new tradition---three small receptions. One for the bridal family, which is entirely planned and executed by the bridal parents. One for the groom's family, entirely planned and executed by the groom's. And one for the actual couple and their friends, which could be planned and executed by a trusted friend or the couple themselves. The POINT of a wedding reception I guess is SUPPOSED to be symbolic of the coming together of all these different factions, but it seems to always just lead to stress and someone getting the shaft. I like my way better.

After the meeting Herbie and I went to John Harvard's Brew Pub and had a delightful meal and some good beer and conversation. It was nice. Wednesday we also had a delightful meal, at Kaya, the spot which both of us love dearly with all our hearts and souls. We had the most perfect afternoon waiter and some killer tropas. That's a kitchen where I could imagine working, but I would eventually have to handle calamari and I think I would be too grossed out. I'll stick to downhome veggie, thanks.

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com