Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

August 11, 2003

Papasan chair is in the hizzouse!!

It took some doing, but I finally got it. The chair of my adolescent dreams. I worked extra hard last night clearing a corner of the office to set it up. It truly is like nestling in the womb to sit in the chair. But now that I have it, I realize it is going to require a floor lamp. Ideally, one of those floor lamps with the table attached. Rememeber those? I think much thrift store scouring is in order.

The other big news is the runaway success of African Brunch. This brunch was totally off the hook. As we were cooking up the various recipes, we were both completely overcome with love for the food. Vegetable Stew with kholrabi, eggplant curry, collards with ginger and garlic, spinach and peanutbutter stew, black eyed peas in coconut milk, split peas with bananas, couscous salad with mint and green beans and carrots, and sweet congo oranges. We got more compliments than I ever remember getting. We ran out of food an hour early. People were lovin it. I decided I wanted to cook African food forever and ever. It was all EASY, nothing involved super complicated spices or lots of prep. But so fucking delicious.

This week is going to be hardcore. Lots of bookstore time in the day, and then evenings spent working out some catering things. Gotta get going on a menu proposal for the wedding, some extra details for the OTHER wedding, and also figuring out what we are going to make to wow em at the theater. Hopefully a girl's night out on Wednesday. And on top of it all, I am expecting a few deliveries from Amazon. Gotta put the papasan chair to it's proper use with some kicked back reading. I am not even sure what I actually ordered(I believe at least one MK Fisher) but I have been periodically adding various food memoirs to my wish list. I call it research.

I hate to end on a sad note, but I have to say that I was more upset than I could fathom over the death of Gregory Hines. I can't really say how he became someone I felt strongly about, but I was totally shocked and very tearful to hear about his death. Maybe I used to watch his show when I was a youngster? I don't remember it, but it's a possibility. I think he was on Sesame Street or the Muppet Show a few times. In any case, RIP Gregory. The world is a less beautiful place.

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com