Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

August 14, 2003

Just got back from a delightful sojourn in the strip district. I spent more $$ than I probably should have on fine cheeses, fruits, breadstuffs and pesto makings, but the rationale is that I am going to be eating these things exclusively during the next two weeks of intensive bookstore time. I am trying to provide myself with fun little lunch items to pack in order to avoid the temptation of 1)frito-lays cheddar ranch twists, and 2)daily ordering out of $7.00 sub sandwiches.(delish though they may be) I could not avoid the lure of the St Andre triple cream, to which Herbie introduced me when we were ordering the cheese for the wine tasting we recently catered. Holy mamaogod, that stuff is good, and our local fromagerie(which is actually Italian, not French) carries it for about half the price of this mail order, ship next day air place. I also got some tried and true Canadian Black Diamond Cheddar, to enjoy on Chicago Sea Salt flats with thin slices of gala apple. I will probably not be able to bring a light rose into the bookstore with me, but I might venture down to the wine store and get myself some Mateus if they have it, for evening enjoyment.

Got a buttload of basil and pine nuts to make pesto as well---to go with the rest of the cheapo spaghetti I got last week. Cold pesto spaghetti for lunch sounds heavenly to me right now.

So, part of the Strip Trip involved a cheddar and bacon omelet with homefries and coffee at Delucas, which I enjoyed while reading chapters N(for nautical) through P(for Peas) of An Alphabet for Gourmets. If I had know this book would be such a dude magnet I would have got myself a copy back when I was scopin for dudes, lemmetellya. I was reading along when the lovely tattoo-ed and pierced waiter who works at Delucas came over to refill my coffee, and we got to chatting. About MFK Fisher, and cooking, and Ethiopean food, and how even avowed meateaters can enjoy well prepared vegetarian fare. I invited him to the Quizzle and gave him one of my remaining two for one supper club cards, and he promised to attend and bring his kids. That really made my day.

Also making my day today is the fact that honeygirl and I hauled great loads of trashbags and cardboard boxes out to the curb this morning, making the rock star room/office a lot less daunting. There is still a great melange of items in the center of the room which need to be sorted into trash, keep, and rummage sale, but I think one more solid evening of that work will finish it off. And honeygirl promises to return from bratwurst land with not only bratwurst PATTIES(who ever heard of such a thing?) but also a sturdy shelving unit which she handcrafted herself in high school, onto which I can stack the banker boxes of miscellaneous crap I can not part with. Sometimes I feel like an unrepentent pack rat, but then I quickly remind myself that I do not have the benefit of mom's attic or basement in which to store accumulated stuff, like most of the people I know(some of whom even have their OWN attics and basements to store stuff in) Everything I have from forever is contained within the walls of this slightly dumpy apartment, which is a blessing and a curse. My sorting is going in stages---right now I am at the stage where I just fill up the boxes with mixed stuff and slap a lid on. Next stage will be sorting the stuff into labeled boxes so I can actually find something I might want. I am hoping to at least commence that stage in September when bookstore life will be over and I will have some days to myself again. Wish me luck.

For now, I gotta go vacuum the feathers out of the living room carpet.

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com