Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

August 16, 2003

Today I have been in an absolutely unfounded melancholy mood. I have broken out into sobs at the slightest provocation twice today. I don't get it. I have stretched my brain to figure out if maybe it is some sort of somatic memory anniversary of something, but I can not come up with anything. Odd.

Last night was fun in so many ways, after a demoralizing day at the bookstore. Yes friends, customers are starting to come and now it feels just like it always did. But it will be over soon enough, and I will have a pocket full of cash to show for it. I hurried home and gussied up for the LUPEC photoshoot at Sharon Spell's art opening at Casbah. I was about to leave the house when I looked down at my open toed shoes and noticed that my blue nail polish was chippy. I figured that Mama of all people would understand me being late to her opening due to a pedicure emergency, so I sat down and redid the nails before going to catch the bus.

Wonder of wonders, along comes my guitarartistboy, announcing himself as my "personal car service." I convinced him to come along for a drink and we had a nice time. I also got to chat with one of the ladies who is working on opening a sexuality boutique in Pittsburgh, as well as the LUPEC ladies and the sexy bald bartender. After a vodka martini and a Golden Gopher, I staggered down the street to Wholefoods to shop drunk. Shopping drunk, while irresponsible and occasionally terrifying, is really entertaining. You can experience things in a whole new way. It was especially nice to be shopping drunk last night because my sweet Kentucky boy was working the customer service desk, and I got to hear his dulcet tones over the intercom several times. I went up to chat with him and convince him that he really ought to come to brunch for the peachy french toast. He said he would try.

Finished my shopping and saw Sunshine Pete enjoying a salad at the tables outside, and then headed for the bus stop. I ended up getting on the UV Loop, which turned out to be the best bus ride EVER because the driver was the sweetest bus driver lady ever and right after I got on a guy who got out of prison the day before got on. The three of us had a great time, chatting it up, and he kept saying that we were such nice ladies and he had so much respect for us, cuz one thing he learned in lock down was respect. The bus driver told us about her ex-G man honey who looked like the Incredible Hulk. It was a party on the bus, just like old times.

I have no idea what I did when I got home last night. It's a blur. I think I played a lot of Free Cell and then went to sleep.

This morning I woke up with the worst Charliehorse of my life. It is still lingering after a full day of painful walking around trying to stretch it out. It keeps doing that weird spasm thing where you can see the muscle moving, like there is a snake in there wrapped around your bone. I don't like it one bit.

That sort of limited my activities for the day, although I did take two separate shopping excursions. I meant to just go to the strip to get bread and cherries, but there were no cherries. Anywhere. So I got the bread and I came home and then a few hours later I went to the big bird down by the liquor store. I figured if I was going to have to go out for the cherries I would reward myself with some wine. I ended up getting yellowtail chardonnay, because I have heard it's good and I want to train myself to drink chardonnay, and a small bottle of lambrusco for late night porch sitting. These next two weeks are going to feature a lot of that, I daresay. I also got a bottle of kirschwasser, just because. I put some in my Sprite just now and it is really tasty. It really makes me want to set some fruit on fire though. I think that is secretly why I bought it.

So back to the melancholy. One of the things I did while trying to calm the angry snake in my calf was make my first successful mix CD. It is a LIVE mix for my priest, who has never heard them. I am convinced that she will love them. It was hard to pick my "favorite songs" because most of them are my favorite. But I dissolved in a literal puddle of tears when I listened to "Dance With You" today. I think that this song affects me so because a)it is gorgeous, and b) it reminds me very much of a song my ex sweetheart wrote once. For me. This is the extra added heartache of having an exsweetheart who is a poet and songwriter---there are not only whole albums by his actual bands(some of which I was even in myself) to which I can not listen without becoming weepy, but there are lots of songs which remind me of songs that he wrote for me that make me break down too. On top of all the actual loveletters and "our songs"("To Lay Me Down" by the Grateful Dead comes to mind) that most people have to get over after a breakup. Sheesh.

And then, I am on the internet looking at my new favorite site, The Real Live Preacher and he tells a story about how on the 10th anniversary of when they moved into the church, his congregation stood up and put their hands forward and said the Benediction on him. I lost it.

And now, I have all these plans to mop the kitchen floor but I am getting all teary eyed again. I think I will just mascerate some peaches in brown sugar and call it a night.

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com