Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

Thursday, Aug. 28, 2003

Last night I drempt that LIVE came to play secretly at the Quiet Storm open mike night. No one else who was there(and there weren't a ton of people, just an ordinary Sunday night crowd at a coffeehouse) knew who they were. Somehow there was grand piano available and Ed was noodling around on it and they played some really lovely songs. I seemed to know them but learned later that they were new numbers. LIVE was doing that thing where bands go to tiny out of the way spots to work out new material in front of a live audience.

After they played I sat with them and told them I thought the songs were great, and they were still under the impression that they were totally incognito. I finally blurted out that Ed was one of my favorite people on the planet and instantly I was their buddy. We all went out and piled into their weird rickety car and they were going to drive me home before going back to York, but we got turned around somehow and ended up at this sprawling palatial compound down by the river. We got out of the car and it was dark and quiet with a billion stars and we decided to walk down by the river, and Ed and I were holding hands and talking quietly about IMPORTANT THINGS like God and all that, and there was some sort of unspoken understanding that we had a unique bond and in an alternate universe where we were unattached to others perhaps we would be eternal soulmates.(you know how these things are in dreams) But then somehow we wandered into some kind of warehouse and there were all these giant black pipes scattered everywhere, and we all got separated and I was wandering around amongst the maze and I could see that they had all found each other and were getting in the car and driving away. And I emerged just as they were pulling away and started waving my arms and running, but they kept going, and I felt that soul crushing sadness that sometimes you feel in dreams, and I started walking alone across the big highway bridge toward my house, with my long dress(suddenly I was wearing a long dress!) flapping in the wind like some sort of Stevie Nicks video, and they raced onto the bridge and Ed was yelling at me through the window that it was joke, and to please get back into the car, but I was inconsolable. See how things are? You meet your spiritual soulmate and he turns out to be a joker in a rickety car.

I consider this to be so meaningful on so many levels that I have to laugh once again at my nutty subconscious.

I am off of work this morning, but with a million administrative and household chores. I am also off tomorrow, when I hope to be a little more relaxed. Saturday and Sunday I will be all up in the Stizzle, covering Herbie's lunch shift and rockin the brunch. And then a week full of catering my ass off. Hoping to do something besides laboring on Labor day though. Any ideas?

Yesterday as I was leaving my apartment I saw the girlfriend of the man who has moved downstairs. She was pleasant to me and said "good morning", but as I was walking off I heard her say loudly to the man inside "these ladies scare me." What the fuck? If a man with bad taste in furniture, children(judging from the early morning screams I have heard the past few mornings) and a homophobic girlfriend has moved in downstairs, things might be getting ugly around here. I have yet to actually lay eyes on him, so I will give him the benefit of the doubt for now. However, I am not above a campaign of loud early morning Melissa Ethridge to make him see the error of his ways. We'll see how it all shakes out.

Yesterday I left the bookstore early and got myself Jeffrey Steingarten's second book and had a beer and salad and read a bit before coming home. He is a wildly entertaining writer. This is a lucky break, because his book is thick as a brick. Literally. The beer worked hard on me and I got home and put myself to bed. Intending a little nap. Ha! I slept hard and fast until 3:45am. Then slept again until my alarm went off(for some reason I suddenly can not set my alarm properly, and manage to set it to radio instead of off) at 6am, with some guy on NPR talking about energy plants. I should have gotten up at that point and taken out the garbage, but instead I went back to sleep until 8:30am. Ha! It was chilly enough to sleep with the comforter, and I was not going to give up that luxury for the garbage. That's what garbage cans with large capacities and tight sealing lids were invented for.

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com