Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

Saturday, Aug. 30, 2003

Last night we finally viewed the several reels of 8mm film from my baby-toddlerhood I recently found while cleaning. It is really remarkable how well 8mm film holds up after 36 odd years of non-archival storage.

There were some great films from the very end of my mom's pregnancy, and lots of my first days. And then the adorable toddler shots, walking in the walker with a bonnet on, etc. My very favorite was a small snippet of film lodged in between some beach scenes and some desert scenes. I am imagining that this film was shot at some point when my mother was out of town. Because, it features me bouncing along on my little pony on springs, with a giant beer can in each hand. I'm probably around 2 years old, and at the very end of the footage I am trying to bring both cans to my mouth at once.

Cut to the desert.

I was sorely tempted to call my father that very minute(more to ask him why he had such a hard time focusing than why he was allowing me to play with beer cans) but I didn't REALLY want to talk to him. It was just odd to see such a live action reflection of myself. I noticed that even as a very small infant I made a lot of hand gestures. In one film(one of the bonnet-walker films) I can actually be seen to throw up the devil horns. No really---we slowed it down.

Before the film retrospective we spent a lot of time and a lot of money at the thrift stores. I scored big time on the cookbooks and board games---including BIBLEOPOLY! I think we may play it tonight at the laundrymat.

I also scored two pairs of the pants of my dreams. You know how I am always talking about the drawstring linen pants--well these take it one better, a very very heavy weight nubby linen with long long legs for cuffing. I am in heaven.

I also got a really nice seventies style tortoise plastic jewelry organizer, and a serviceable toaster to replace the one that I may or may not have burnt out the other day.

Today was a long day at the Stizzle, and tomorrow will be another long day at the stizzle, and then I won't be going there for a while. I think labor day maybe I will just stay in bed. All day.

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com