Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

Saturday, Sept. 06, 2003

I feel so much better today! After foolhardily thinking that I could go to the Brewhouse and rock out on less than 4 hours sleep and a full day of catering, I gave in to my body and left the party to crawl into bed before 11pm. I slept like a rock baby under the comforter in the chill evening air, and woke up naturally at 8am. I read a little, had some coffee and bagel, and watched my two favorite Saturday morning programs--The McLaughlin Group and Religion and Ethics Newsweekly. I absolutely adore the contrast between shouty John M and graceful Bob A. I experienced once again the strange media conspiracy against me ever seeing actual footage of Howard Dean speaking. Seriously--they showed clips from the ABQ debates, and although they talked about Howard and how he is the frontrunner and most likely to win with all his grassroots support, etc, THEY DID NOT SHOW HIM TALKING. They showed Gephardt attacking Bush and Lieberman attacking Dean, but they did not show Dean saying anything. Hmm. I guess Dean sticking to his guns and re-iterating his views is not as newsworthy as Dick "turncoat" Gephardt getting on the attack bandwagon, and Joe "misguided and desperate" Lieberman attacking the frontrunner in order to look like he has some huevos.(a New Mexican term)

They also showed Kerry, who continues to creep me out. That man looks like Frankenstein's monster to me, and I just don't think I could stand to ever watch a state of the union address if he was president. I have no idea what his agenda items are--I just know he creeps me out. So he doesn't get my vote.

So, I have read some things lately suggesting that Dean is not the bleeding heart liberal that I and many others have taken him to be, which I think is a GOOD thing. Because as the pundits so wisely pointed out, all the money in the Republican universe is going to be poured into making him look like a pinko commie fag(or at least pinko commie fag-lover) if he gets the nomination, and therefore it behooves his cause to get the media to write about his more centrist beliefs whenever possible. (I refer here to the "mainstream" media like Time and Newsweek, who might think they are being snarky and "demystifying" him, but are in reality making him slightly more palatable to middle America.) From my perspective, he still seems to be sticking to his original agenda, which is what I ask for in a politician. At this point in our national evolution, I will take not turning the clock back 50 years socially over making a ton of progress. I think fiscal responsibility and health care reform are the kinds of issues that need to be dealt with RIGHT NOW, and then we can start to move ahead.

Damn, it's a little early on a Saturday morning for all this deep political insight, isn't it?

In more lighthearted and superficial news, I DID manage to have some super sweet social interaction last night which was well worth the $7 I paid for one cup of extremely lousy beer and hearing the grating boy noise of Conelrad(I am not saying it is BAD, it's just not for me) from the new deck.

I said hello to alot of my favorite people, and I got to spend some QT with my favorite boy who was in rare silly form last night. Also got to briefly see my honeygirl looking like a filmprojecting ninja in her black outfit and bandana, and the former atticdweller looking very fine in his windswept preacher hairdo, and my guitarartist looking happy and bouncy, and my ex sweetheart in his jewelled silk shirt. It was ALL GOOD, and although I am sad that I did not get to see the films or hear the bands I had come to see and hear, I know that I did the right thing. Because I was getting CRAN-KEE, and I know that I could not have enjoyed any of it to the fullest.

The hi-light of last night's silly conversation was about how inappropriate it is for guys to wait in the bathroom line to pee when there are so many dumpsters and concrete blocks to be pee'd upon. Why pee in something when you can pee ON something, the boy said, and followed it with "A man who waits in the bathroom line instead of peeing outside is not a full man but a Ha'man" Herbie and I laughed about that all the way to the car and half the way down Carson street.

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com