Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

Saturday, Sept. 20, 2003

I feel very remiss that I did not manage to alert you all to the fact that yesterday was INTERNATIONAL TALK LIKE A PIRATE DAY. I am assuming that you all read other things on the internet and found out somehow, and were able to get in at least one "Arr" or "Avast" or, for all you Deppheds, "Savvy". Let me just say this though: despite the fact that I THOROUGHLY enjoyed POTC/COTBP, I was oh so gratified to learn that International Talk Like a Pirate Day started many years ago, and has been going on pretty regularly without my knowledge. I say this because I have been a pirateophile for quite some time, PREVIOUS to THE movie, and it is nice to know that there are others out there who also began pirateloving before THE movie came along. Because it seems like a lot of people jumped up on the pirate bandwagon after THE movie, and although that is always nice, I like to feel that I am something of a standard bearer in the piratelovin tradition.

So, how did I celebrate INTERNATIONAL TALK LIKE A PIRATE DAY?

I ate at Long John Silvers, for one. It happened sort of by mistake, but it was a fortuitous mistake in the end.

It all started because of the elusive quest for RUST COLORED PAPER NAPKINS, which simply do not exist in the world of paper party supplies. I went to no less than three party supply stores looking for them, as well as searching at least 5 party napkin supply internet sites. NOBODY has them. People have red or burgundy or orange, but nothing that really even comes close to the rust. I am completely incredulous about this, especially as this is FALL and rust colored party napkins seem logical to me for fall parties. But NO.

So I had to use all my creative caterer skills to come up with some kind of alternative plan. Which ended up being using rust as the ACCENT color---meaning a new search for rust colored ribbon. Again I was failed by Papermart--again, I was incredulous. I thought surely I would find rust colored curling ribbon that could be tied around the clear cutlery in a nice little accentive bow. NO.

So, contingency plan time.

I had plans for dinner with the honeygirl, and it was my turn to decide where we would eat. I decided we would eat at PONDEROSA, which is one of our favorite places to eat on account of the baked potatoes, and which is oh so conveniently located near to Pat catan's craft supply store. Rust colored ribbon, here I come.

So we saddled up the Ranger and drove out past Kennywood, and as we pulled around the corner we simultaneously noticed two things:

ONE--PONDEROSA was completely dark, and actually BOARDED UP; and

TWO--Long John Silver's sign said "TALK LIKE A PIRATE TODAY--GET A FREE PIRATE HAT."

So a decision was made. We went into the craft store and after searching absolutely EVERYWHERE, swatch in hand, finally came up with some rust colored ribbon. And some bonus rust colored metallic pipe cleaners, which I think will look fantastic as napkin holders. Crisis averted.

So we went to Long John Silver's and we said Arr and we got our free pirate hats, which were paper cut out hats that say "I sailed with Long John Silver" and have instead of a skull and crossbones, a skull and cross-fork and knife. Excellent. We wore our hats while we ate, and while we drove home, and while we were at the Warsaw Tavern Variety Show where my honeygirl was showing films. On account of my hat I met a very cool tattoo artist who I am SURE would not have talked to me were I not wearing the hat, and also a super freak from California for whom everything that anyone said was cause for staggering around with his hand to his chest saying "EXCELLENT!!" It was one of those nights.

Today has been nothing but sleeping in, watching McLaughlin Group but NOT Bob Abernathy(he was pre-empted by cooking shows--THE BASTARDS!!) eating a sausage gravy covered breakfast, and more sleeping. As it is my last day as a free woman for the next two weeks solid of wedding related catering, I am taking advantage of it.

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com