Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

Wednesday, Sept. 24, 2003

You want to know one of the worst things about being a caterer?

I'll tell you---making something incredibly yummy which you can not eat.

I spent the last 45 minutes making almond-crusted cheddar blue cheese balls for the wedding, and of course in the course of kneading the cheese and rolling the balls I had to lick some off my fingers. (note: as a soon to be certified FPM, I only lick my fingers when I am done with the prep I am doing, and then wash my hands thoroughly for the time it takes to say my ABCs under water as hot as I can stand, with antibacterial soap. Then dry with clean paper towel. Amen)

That shit is GOOOOOOD. I can not stop thinking about it. I just wanna have it.

I had enough fixins left over to make a small cheese ball to take to the party I am going to tonight--so I will get to have some. But not for five hours.

In the meantime, I have to de-stem a case of kale, which is not at all appetizing raw and all by itself. So I should be able to stand that easily.

I was hoping to have the new Outkast album in time for my kale-cleaning adventure, but alas, it has not arrived at my door as of yet. Probably tomorrow.

You wanna know one of the best things about being a caterer? Vacuum packed pre-sliced onions. I salute whoever came up with that with a hearty HUZZAH!

One final note, and I can't believe I have not mentioned this already---after years and years of disappointment, last week I finally spotted Oscar Meyer Ham'n'Cheese loaf at the grocery store. This was my all time favorite luncheon meat when I was a child. I gave it up and forgot about it for YEARS when I was a vegetarian. When I was done being a vegetarian, I would look for it every time I went to the grocery store, but no dice. Until last week. I am so happy it is back on the market.

Time to get going on the kale. Time's a tickin.....

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com