Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

Friday, Sept. 26, 2003

I am REALLY BUMMED about Robert Palmer dying of a heat attack at the age of 54 while on vacation in Paris with his "companion." I only hope that he was enjoying "companionship" to the fullest.

It's very eerie because one of my roles as an OLD PERSON in the Pittsburgh rock scene has often been to defend Robert Palmer to the kids. As recently as last week, I was telling some kid(I can't remember who) that Robert Palmer's early stuff was really amazing. The kid responded--"You mean Power Station?"

No, I mean the stuff he recorded before you were born.

My sister got all up in Robert Palmer sometime in the mid 80's, so she had all his great albums like PRIDE and SNEAKING SALLY THROUGH THE ALLEY. And that one with the girl coming out of the pool....DOUBLE FUN. My favorite Robert Palmer songs are "Looking for Clues" and "You Are In My System." I think I have to say that Robert Palmer turned me on to the white boy funk in a big way.

I can only hope that people pay some attention to him now. He was one talented cat.

*Notice I did not mention the whole Addicted to Love thing. While I am very glad that he got some props for inventing that whole stylistic video thing, I really didn't like that song. I did like Weird Al's version though.

**Okay, having read over Weird Al's lyrics, I have to admit that I do like the part in Robert Palmer's version where he draws the word "grind" into two syllables. That's cool.

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com