Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

Saturday, Nov. 01, 2003

I have survived the Dormont Ordeal with only a severe case of Coors Light poisoning. Which totally sucks, because the plan was to hit at least one if not two parties I really wanted to attend tonight.

Instead, I will be holing up in the bed making frequent trips to the bathroom.

I don't know why I feel the need to be a Coors Light martyr every time I go to see my dad. I KNOW it will fuck me right up.(and not in a GOOD way) But every time he offers me a beer, I feel like it is not so much a shitty can of beer but some sort of olive branch, some sort of effort to make up for all the years when things were sour. So I drink them, and then I feel like hell. Add in overly warm temperatures and a huge starchy meal, and you got trouble. Right here in River City.

I have to say though, despite the eventual outcome, that it was a nice visit. I am glad I went and I had some good conversations with the auntie and the sisters and almost with the brother and a good bit with the dad, before everyone else arrived. So it was worth it.

Although I am seriously bummed about missing the parties. I would have liked to party tonight. I guess I might as well start saving it up for my Thanksgiving weekend BINGE 2003---even though Thanksgiving weekend does not hold the power and mystery it did when I was a full time bookstore manager. It's still my favorite binge drinking holiday.

Tonight my father gave me an issue of National Geographic that had somehow been delivered to him. I wasn't going to take it but it had an article on wildlife in Cuba and a real nice one on a newly discovered Egyptian tomb.

And then that magazine saved my life, when as I approached the train platform I simultaneously saw a--a train pulling away and b--two Mormons on their way to the platform. By the grace of the Goddess, I was able to reach a seat on the platform and become engrossed in an article before they were able to make any eye contact. One of them did try to engage me in conversation at one point, cleverly asking me how often the trains ran, but I gave him my best Ally Sheedy in breakfast club one word answer and kept my nose in the magazine. Success. Then, just as the train was pulling up, another victim walked by and they pounced on him. I hurried onto the train and said a thank you prayer.

Speaking of prayers, everyone pray nice and hard that nothing terrible happens tomorrow during the consecration of Rev Gene Robinson as Bishop in New Hampshire. This man's steadfast devotion to his calling is really inspirational to me, and I am so worried that some conservative asshole is going to try to do something to fuck it up. Let's hope not.

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com