Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

Monday, Dec. 08, 2003

Busy, busy busy, holidays are underway, big plans and schemes, running out of cash.

Eeek! I really need to start thinking about gainful employment. My grand unemployment experiment has been nice, but the grace period is almost over. Time to get some kind of steady income again. At least a little bit.

Planning parties and more parties, and trying to think about moving, and conjuring ghosts from the recent past lately. I am not sure how I feel about it but I feel like things happen for a reason and there is no opting out of life. I did a good job of hiding out over Thanksgiving weekend seeing no one and speaking no words but as the bustle begins I have to put on my social face. I can do it. It's an adventure.

Last night we went to a new FUSION restaurant to celebrate the birthday of my dear friend MC Herbal. We went the "small plates" route, tasting six different little offerings. My goodness! Everything was Very Good, but in a lot of cases I wished they had gone a little further. Pushed the envelope a little more. I have to admit that as much as I adore comfort food, my Aquarian nature is very intrigued by the extremities of fusion cooking. I secretly wanted to figure out a way to get in there and fuck shit up a little more. But don't get me wrong, kids, they are definitely doing some good stuff over there. I was completely turned on by the spicy lamb sausage, and normally I am not a lamb fan in the least.

It was, for the most part, an INSPIRING meal, and that is the best you can hope for if you are addicted to cooking like myself.

After the meal we tried to find a place to have a drink in Shadyside after 9pm. Good lord, it wasn't easy. We ended up at the Wm Penn Tavern, which was hoppin with the baseball hat wearing, white-RnB-identified crowd. We found what we thought was a secluded table(ended up being directly across from the entrance to the men's room, unfortunately) and had some drinks and cigarettes and chat. Lots of laughing and sparkly wit, and that is the best you can hope for when having some drinks with the ladies.

Before all that official celebrating began, we had a theme brunch which was incredibly fun. We did "deep south" menu, lots of dairy in everything, and people were LOVING it. We got so many compliments and we had a blast. Herbie got sang to twice over the course of brunch---once by the whole brunch crowd, and again by the staff when we brought out the secret ice cream cake. She was so happy and it was all very festive. Let the holidays begin!

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com