Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

Wednesday, Dec. 10, 2003

Yesterday made me proud to be a Democrat. I don't normally go around being hot headed about being a democrat; in fact, there was a period in there when I was pissed at all democrats and didn't think I could possibly be one happily.

But Dean came along and was as pissed off about the war as I was; and willing to say so. Without being super crazy like Kucinnich. Cool. Then yesterday Al Gore threw his back into the Dean campaign, and that can only be good. So that made me happy.

And then last night when I was holed up in bed repeating my "no flu, no flu" mantra instead of going out and doing any one of the three or four fun things to do last night, I got to see Jimmy Carter on the Leno show. Jimmy has just written a novel about the revolutionary war which has a SEX SCENE in it!! Shriek!! Jay asked him to read it, and he consented, all the while being demur and adorable and coyly worrying about what his Sunday school class would say. It was so heartwarming!

And of course Jay asked him what he thought about the recent developments, and he was SO DIPLOMATIC that I was almost in tears. I mean, that man can turn a phrase in a way few politicians can these days. He did not come out and support Dean, although he did say that he thinks Dean has a chance at winning the election if he wins the nomination. He seemed to be pretty uncertain that he would win the nomination, but again, he said it so diplomatically that no one would be able to twist his words if they wanted to. Good on ya, Jimmy. I love that man.

Another man I love is, of course, Alice Cooper, and I heard an interview with him yesterday that also had me nearly in tears. He was asked about Ozzy's accident and he said that he could not believe someone would give that man a motor vehicle with his hands shaking so badly. He went on to talk about alcoholism and basically give an impassioned plea to Ozzy to "get that taken care of". There was actual anger in his voice when he was talking about how he had heard Ozzy say that his shakes were embarassing, and he said that he had the DTs so badly when he finally checked himself in that he couldn't sign his name, and he knew about the embarassment and that it had only taken him a couple days of being clean to kick them. It was so sweet, the way he was talking in a concerned way about Ozzy's problem. I would imagine as Ozzy had to have some major surgery that he is going to be going cold turkey, although they are going to have to be pretty damn careful about pain meds. I hope he's OK. I was not a huge fan of the whole Osbournes thing, but Ozzy is something of an institution and I think it's a shame that he has had to live out his dissolution so publically. I used to have a lot of respect for Sharon as being a real smart lady, but lately I am starting to feel that she is using her shrewdness to market Ozzy's pain, and that makes me sad. When I hear the Vincent Price spoken word part in Alice's song "Black Widow", about the stumbling demented child king, I always think of Ozzy. Poor guy. I hope he'll be ok.

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com