Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

Friday, Jan. 30, 2004

Some new favorite things:

Merlin's lists of fives

Dizzee Rascal's Fix Up, Look Sharp song

It's dang cold outside, but I gotta venture into it to get eggs, paper towels, foil and trays for a catering job tonight. I was so out of touch with my surroundings yesterday when I went shopping that I didn't even realize I was out of foil! The eggs, I bought, but somehow lost. I am hoping that they are in the front seat of Herbie's car, but it's a real mystery how I could have forgotten them.

I'm pleased that this weekend is all about catering and Quiet Storm--then four more days of bookstore, and then bookstore is done. Then it's time to dive headlong into the breakfast adventure. I'm also going to dive headlong into trying to make punk rock kareoke happen at the storm....details TBA.

I got two W-2s yesterday...I am assuming that I still need to get something from the profit sharing money, and then I can go on ahead and do the alchemical calculations. I have no earthly idea what my tax picture is going to look like this year---I'm hoping for a refund since I was paying big time taxes for the first half of the year and then had almost zero income, but we'll see. It's anybody's guess.

Also on my mind is the fact that most of my favorite feminist books are out of print. I was looking some stuff up for a friend who is putting together a women's reading list, and most of the books I checked on were OP. What the FUCK??? Women's bookstores are going out of business at a rapid clip, women's books are out of print, women's studies departments at colleges are closing or getting absorbed into other departments....I know calling yourself a feminist is no longer fashionable, but have people generally determined that we don't even need to LEARN about the feminist struggle anymore? It makes me want to puke. It makes me want to start a women's reading group right away. I can't stand the thought that young women who WANT to know about our history can't even get access to the resources they need. Oh, I'm getting fired up. I feel an agenda coming on.

Speaking of agendas and getting fired up, how am I going to vote for Kerry in good conscience, should the time come? I guess it's not a done deal yet, but SHEESH. I don't like the looks of him and I don't like what he says. Is it really the case that the best choice to beat Bush is the guy who looks the most like him???

OK, now I've gotten myself pissed off. I better go listen to some KISS and shop for foil.

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com