Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

Tuesday, Feb. 03, 2004

After a delightful weekend reprieve, it's back to the bookstore for me. But only four days, not so bad. Hard, however, to make that shift back after a great weekend of doing what I want to do. The catering was all fun, the rock show on Saturday night was amazing, the meetings with soon to be marrieds were fun and productive, and yesterday was the best of all--a small load of laundry in the morning, followed by a full day of meeting at the Quiet Storm. I get off on that stuff, let me tell you what. I was so proud of myself for hoofing a bag of necessaries down to the laundrymat in the early am, and then absolutely thrilled to find I was the only one there. So I chilled with my Gourmet magazine and enjoyed the lulling sounds of the washing machine and the sun glinting off the last of the melting ice outside. While my clothes were drying I went a couple doors down and got myself a gyro for brunch. It was DELICIOUS. For some reason I had myself convinced that I did not like them, but when I walked into the place it smelled so good I had to get it. And it was fantastic! I don't know where I got the idea that I didn't like gyro meat but I was wrong. After I got home and did a lot of administrative emailing, I went to the storm to get my meet on. We had a partners meeting, and then a staff meeting, and then an ordering meeting, and then a kitchen meeting. All told, about FIVE HOURS of meetings. But at the end of it I felt so jazzed about the place and the new menu and the potential for greatness---we have such an incredible crew in there, and it is such an exciting time here on the verge of really getting the kitchen crankin. I cannot wait for next week, when I will be in there making the breakfast every morning with my travel mug of coffee and my happy morning music on the stereo and hopefully my dishwashing apron(I am determined to find one before I dive into breakfast!)

I got some gentle ribbing from some of the staff about my new partner/manager status---I told them I really have no lust for power and am just a dang ole hippie at heart---albeit one who likes to run a tight ship. I think it will be fine, and I really have so much respect for all the people that work there. I can't wait! I really can't wait until I can be there to unload the Frankferd Farms order when it comes--my memories of the frankferd farms people are so good and it is going to be so nice to deal with them again. Sigh. I think I really am doing what I really want to do, and it feels incredibly good.

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com