Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

Tuesday, Feb. 24, 2004

My head is officially spinning. For the first time in my adult life(well, unless you count that time when my ex-husband's family bait and switched us with the farm..) I am considering home ownership. I was walking around the neighborhood yesterday in the glorious sunshine(she says looking out the window at gray skies and slush from a fresh morning snow squall)writing down phone numbers for apartments for rent, when I stumbled upon the most adorable little house with garden gate and back patio complete with metal awning. The house absolutely entranced me with its cuteness, especially in comparison to the houses to its left and right. I wrote down the info and came home and looked it up on the assessment website and found that it is 1)not as little as it appears, with 3 bedrooms, living room and dining room and pretty large kitchen, not to mention full basement and detached garage, and 2)hella cheap. So now I am convinced that buying a house is the answer. It's less than two blocks from where I plan to spend every morning 5 days a week for the foreseable future, and I am assured that it is an excellent investment as property values are guaranteed to go up once the monstrous new hospital gets its mitts on the neighborhood. Whatever. It's cute. It is described on the real estate website as a lovely house in move in condition, with dishwasher. Hee hee! So that project is in development--I am lucky enough to have a friend whose mom is a realator, and I am thinking that I might be able to talk my dad into co-signing a loan for me since I have terrible credit and no readily measurable income. And then I can move in to the most adorably cute house EVER and paint the walls whatever color I want. And sit on the porch and drink tea and have my shrubbery friend come over and take care of my shrubbery. And have a garden and barbecues. I am fully invested in this project now. The idea of apartment rental is an affrontery.

So, back to reality---I am still undergoing weeding and packing of my posessions--it doesn't matter where they eventually end up, I just know they won't be HERE for much longer. The stuff I am weeding and packing at this point is all the superfluous stuff I can not get rid of but don't really need to look at on a daily basis. I have so far done a good job of labeling boxes in such a way that when they finally end up wherever they are going, I will be able to easily sort their contents into some kind of usable system. At least that is my intention. I have fully 3 banker boxes FULL of photos and I'm not done yet. Granted, one of those boxes is full of photo albums, but the other two are just full of a pile of photos. I am hoping against hope that many of them are either doubles or so unrecognizable that some day when I am sitting on the porch of my ridiculously cute house in the sun going through photos I can just chuck a box worth. And the rest will go into albums which can be displayed and showed to people.

In other news, last night I was moved to buy a "pasta making kit" at the going out of business sale at Lazarus. It's not an actual pasta MAKING kit, it's more a pasta cooking kit, consisting of a big heavy bottom stock pot with an insert basket that you can pull out instead of dumping your pasta into the collander in the sink. You know, all the cooking shows have them. It was half price, and I really need more heavy bottom stock pots anyway, and Lord knows I have a serious pasta habit. So I think I'll try it out this evening by making another batch of the most delicious pasta in the history of the world. There isn't really a set recipe for this pasta, it just has to include sauteed garlic and onion, some kind of vegetable, some kind of toothsome pasta, and tuna canned in olive oil and perrano cheese. You absolutely can not go wrong in the deliciousness department with that combination. I think I have a few leaves of baby spinach left to throw in there. I know I have exactly one can of tuna packed in olive oil left. It's gonna be a golden evening.

Then I need to finalize what horsdouevres I am making for tomorrow's big open house at the Quiet Storm, and then I need to wash the wine glasses I have been harboring for a few weeks. None of this is going to be easy because I still have not recovered from getting up at 3:45am to see my honeygirl off to the airport for her trip to Miami. She is going to pick fruit with some friends and hang out with Cubans. I envy her, of course. But there was no real getting back to sleep after that, and so I went in and did breakfast on less than 4 hours of sleep. Got home and crawled back into bed, and after an additional 3 hours I don't feel much more sparkling. But I'll muddle through. The pasta will help.

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com