Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

Wednesday, Mar. 03, 2004

I'm slowly crawling back into the world of the living, after being hit with a monster of a chest cold. I have been doing my breakfast duty all this week, but afterwards diving headfirst into bed with a bottle of nyquil and sleeping nonstop. Two days of this treatment seem to have almost done the trick---today I can taste and smell things again, and I can go for half hours at a time without falling into a hacking cough fit. I think I'm going to make it, and not a minute too soon, as tomorrow I need to deliver a Christina Rossetti poem to gallery attendents at the Frick Fine Arts Museum. LUPEC is having our Women's History Month kick off event at the Frick, where they are currently showing an exhibit called "Victorian Visions" which has absolutely zero art by women. So we are bringing our own, in the form of poems, music and slides. And we're servings cocktails, too. Of course. It should be fun, as long as I am not hacking my way through it. I already made the joke that it is unfortunate that Christina did not die of TB, in which case my body wracking cough could be part of the act. No, she had a disfiguring thyroid disease, and I am not interested in performing a goiter.

Anyway, what you all want to know is--how fabulous is the cutest little house ever? The answer is, too too fabulous. It has the cutest little front porch ever, which is shaded by a big tree(NOT on the property, mind you, hurrah hurrah) and has a couple little shrubberies out front. Inside you go to the left and there is the livingroom, with adequate beige carpet(new!) and funky gold and white vertical blinds, and a fake mantlepiece. Windows on both sides. Then through the steeple shaped arch way to the dining room, which is big and has a window and a stupid chandelier, but also a nice closet and the door to the basement. The basement is a real treat, with a pink! toilet and stall shower, totally dry and painted and full of shelving. The furnace is older, might need to be replaced, but the water heater looks good. The ceiling height is not suited for dance parties, unless I did not invite any tall people.(and I can't really see having a dance party without tall people!) Back upstairs we go through the dining room into the KITCHEN. This is where the angels come down and start singing their songs. The KITCHEN has new flooring which has a pleasant enough light blue vein-y design. The KITCHEN also has CABINETS and COUNTERTOPS. Plenty of them. The CABINETS are ugly, but I have already read plenty of do it yourself information about painting them. They can be painted. There is a pre-installed dishwasher, and also a very nice old butcher block counter in the corner. There is a broom closet, a door to the back patio(more in a moment) and spaces for a fridge and stove. There is even an overhead worklight and a stove hood already installed. Gah! And THEN, you go into the FIRST FLOOR LAUNDRY ROOM. That's right campers, a laundry room right off the kitchen, which also has its own TOILET and STALL SHOWER. And there's some storage in there too. So let's pretend we go back into the kitchen and out the patio door(we couldn't do that because it was bolted) and there you have the nice little concrete patio with the metal awning, with steps up to the back yard with herb patch and larger patches for veggies. Also, there is a peculiar outbuilding for storage and whatnot, and the detached garage which has a vaulted roof and a plastic door which lets in light. Basically, it's a little artist studio to be.

Okay, so we go back into the house and upstairs(to the right when you get in the front door) and at the top of the stairs is the master bedroom. With double windows, a couple of shelves, a window air conditioner, and a walk in closet with built in shelving. The same serviceable beige carpet is in all the rooms, by the way. I think there is a serviceable carpet of another color on the stairs and the hallway, but I could be wrong. Directly accross from the master bedroom door is the second bedroom, which has its own large closet, and one window on the eastfacing side(but it looks out onto the next door house, so it's not terribly illuminating) Down the hall is the third bedroom, with another closet outside and one inside, and another window air conditioner. This room seems like it might get very dark and stifiling, but I guess that's why God made yellow paint. The bathroom is right next door and it is pretty small but not ugly, with white tub and toilet and pedestal sink. I could funk it up in no time.

In sum, I am in love with this house. I want it very much. I need to talk to my father this weekend, and see what he says. I am trying not to get too attached to the idea in case it just doesn't work for any of the reasons why it might not(my bad credit and lack of predictable income being chief among them), but I am also dreaming of what I would do and arranging my furniture in my head. In the past, I have always known right away where I was going to live the moment I walked into the place. And this is the place.

Light candles, please. I'll keep you posted.

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com