Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

Sunday, Mar. 07, 2004

Oh, cruel, cruel, fate. Was it the three cigarettes I smoked while the hot wind was gusting and I was sipping on limoncello? Or was it getting caught in a cold rain after the movie let out, with no hat and no umbrella and no jacket and four or five blocks to walk? Whatever it was, by the time we were halfway through a delicious meal at the new Indian place in Squirrel Hill, I once again lost my faculty to taste, and by the time I got home was sniffling and sneezing again. Dammit. I went straight to bed with my bottle of nyquill but I still woke up, when my dad called at 7am, with a head newly filled with mucous. This has GOT to stop! Pop was calling to tell me that there was indeed a nephew, born around 6:30pm Friday night. Everyone was fine. I vaguely absorbed the news and then went back to sleep, hoping I could wake up again and feel just great and zip off to the hospital to check the kid out. I woke up a couple of times, and tried eating stuff,but still just felt crappy. Finally around 3:30 I decided to just take some alkaseltzer cold and get on with it. I bundled up, cause it was blustery again, and got downtown and got a very cute little blue windup lullaby bear, and got to the hospital and was amazed anew by the fact that just anybody can just wander the halls of a hospital without checking in or anything. I wandered the halls and finally found the family center and wandered some more until I found the nurses station. Sis was in a nice double room and all the dad's family was crowded in there, so I think she was extra happy to see me. The little guy is a real cutie, and a very happy baby. He slept most of the time I was there, despite the fact that people were doing all kinds of stuff to him, but he did open his eyes and look at me before I left. On account of my lungspew I did not actual hold him or get too terribly close, but I did check him out. He's a good one. The dad was very good with him although more than a little nervous, and my sister was totally chill. She didn't seem nervous at all, but she looked very mom-like when she was holding him. She told me that there was a basketball game on the TV the whole time she was giving birth. I swear the kid is going to end up a ballet dancer with all this gratuitous sports stuff being foisted on him.

I hung around the hospital for a while waiting for my dad to show but he didn't, so I decided to just come home and back to bed. No Moving Sound, No hip hop poetry for me. Just more phlegm production. I'm tired of it.

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com