Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2004

Oh, the sun has returned to me! For how long, I can't be sure...but for now, it's blissful.

I am sitting in my tank top and short pants in front of a sunny open window, with a bowl of really serviceable "premium low fat ice cream." I was extremely skeptical, but I was looking for a)mint chocolate chip that was b)in a smallish container and c)less than $6.00. This one was on sale for $2.99, and fulfilled the other two requirements. The chocolate chips are a little waxy, but the ice cream itself is great. I am a little concerned about how it will be texture wise in a few days, being low fat and all, but hopefully my ice cream eating jones will continue on for the next few days and it won't have to last too long. That's my problem with the large boxes of ice cream---I buy it rarely when I REALLY WANT ICE CREAM NOW and that feeling is quickly sated. And then I have 3/4 of a box of ice cream sitting in my freezer, taking up valuable space and getting freezer burnt. I wish there was some sort of ice cream recycling program where you could trade in your uneaten ice cream for coffee or something. Or even just an exchange program, where after you have eaten your fill of mint chocolate chip you could trade it in for another flavor.

So, that's my ice cream story. The other story I have to tell today is that I am having serious second thoughts and cold feet on the house buying issue. I had a moment of satori last night wherein I realized that I really do not want a lot more space, and a lot more debt, and the potential to be stuck for 30 years with drug dealing neighbors. I'm not completely settled yet--need to have some heart to hearts with some people who know me better than I know myself first. But my gut is telling me that what I need is a smaller, cheaper, place that I can leave after a year if the neighbors turn out to be drug dealers with screaming babies. Like I wanted in the first place. Sheesh. Sometimes I think I am changing and then I catch myself right before I do something stupid.

Anyway, today I had run ins with two of my favorite old ethnic men in the world. The first one is the guy who runs the latin/mexican store in the Strip, who always asks me how I am and makes really meaningful small talk. As in--it's small talk, but he listens to what I say and he responds thoughtfully. He is such a sweet guy. And then, I was in Foodland getting some catering supplies and ran into my old landlord. It really surprised me that he recognized me, given the years and my incognito grunge get up(stocking cap, dark shades, and courderoy shirt)but he smiled brightly and shook my hand and asked how I was and where I was living. I told him the old house looked really good(he gutted the place and remodeled) and he said the inside was even better, "all brand new." He is another sweet old man, in addition to being a powerhouse. When I say HE gutted and remodeled the place, I mean HE did it. Amazing.

So, almost time to get crackin on the shrimp fritters. I have a jampacked weekend of fun and commitments that I can barely look in the face right now. But I'll get through. I always do.

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com