Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

Monday, Apr. 26, 2004

What I didn't tell you is that I went to the March on Washington yesterday.

Well, more correctly, I didn't tell you I was planning to go. But I did, and it was an amazing thing. I feel really empowered right now, and I certainly hope to be able to carry that on for a while. At least to carry it on long enough to convince my friends to vote. For heaven's sake.

The lingering physical effects are mostly extreme fatigue, a very pleasant tingly ache in my legs(I would imagine I walked upwards of five miles over the course of Saturday and Sunday!!) and a very, very heavy period, brought on with a vengeance no doubt by being in the midst of several hundred thousand women. Whoo boy!

Some things I don't want to ever forget:

The first time I saw the parade of medical students with their "future abortion providers" signs, that made me tear up that time and every other time I saw them; the feeling of extreme COALLITION BUILDING with such a great presence of black, latina, poor, and other disenfranchised women, as well as queers("faeries for Kerry" being a personal favorite)and trannies and MEN of all descriptions(there were fill in the blank "another_____for choice" signs all around, and I saw several "grandfather" and "straight man" and "queer" signs); Hillary, who made me cry just because she was there breathing the same air I was; Cybil Shepard being all saucy; Gloria Steinem announcing that she is SEVENTY years old, and leading all of us over 25 in cheering on the women who were under 25; seeing the Episcopalians for Choice delegation still marching as we were leaving the grounds after over an HOUR; the Pink Bloque ladies dancing to my favorite 24K song; the NC Bellydance "Bellydancers for Peace and Justice" banner; the older women who were talking about our LUPEC banner and who, when I handed them a flyer, said "we should do this instead of having a book club!"; the dude on the side of the road with the "I'm Just Here For the Ladies" handmade T-shirt, who was chanting along with the "THIS IS WHAT A FEMINIST LOOKS LIKE" earthy crunchy hippie chicks; the countless women in wheelchairs being pushed by men in pink t-shirts; the feeling of having to push through HUNDREDS of people in order to get in line to go to the porta-potty; and of course lots of things that happened on a smaller scale in our little group, which I hope to be able to remember through photos and reminicing with my friends.

It's so hard to decide where to give money---I've always supported Planned Parenthood when I could, and I've given dollars and time to NARAL and NOW in the past. But Hillary really made an impression on me when she talked about getting all the women I know to vote--I think for now my dollars are going to the Feminist Majority and Emily's List. Do what you can.

And if you weren't there, take a look at some pictures.

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com