Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

Tuesday, May. 18, 2004

Things are getting done. The rice is cooking for the beginning of The Great Grape Leaf Rolling Adventure 2004. I have to roll close to 200 of the suckers before next Thursday. It will be easy once I actually get started, but the getting started part hurts.

D'Angelo and Isaac Hayes will help. Last night I went to see WattStax for 30 cents courtesy of WYEP. I also got a free ride there(thanks Daisy!) and a free popcorn(thanks Caleb!) so the entirety of the evening out cost me $3.55(for bus fare home and a Stewart's Cherries and Cream soda) That's a lot of entertainment value right there. That movie made me laugh and cry and thrill like nothing has in a long time. I may have mentioned in the past(or you may have gleaned from these pages) that for a white girl, I have quite a fascination with the black power movement. Seeing Jesse Jackson in 1972, all afro-ed and dashiki-ed, leading the crowd of 10,000 in a fist raised affirmation of personhood just made me weep with joy. Seeing Rufus Thomas(the prince of dance) in his raspberry pink suit and short pants and white boots made me smile. Seeing Black Moses in his chain vest and gleaming chocolate marble body made me...well. It made something happen that made me want to listen to him and D'Angelo all night long.

So I took a stroll down to the Get Go and Got some cigarettes and ginger ale for the long night ahead. I also have some secretarial work to get done while the rice is cooking--catering stuff and LUPEC stuff.

Money is starting to come in, and I am starting to feel like there might be an end to the poverty tunnel. But living exclusively off the profits of CD sales is not a bad way to go. I not only get CASH, but I get to whittle down the material world I will have to carry out of here when I finally get to move into the floating island tiki bar apartment. I am hoping to be able to go there tomorrow or the next day to measure the space and see exactly what will fit. My current landlord is being kind of jerk about the whole thing which I don't think I deserve after being a problem-free tenant for four years. But I guess that's what landlords do. They try to get you for whatever they can.

I have officially made the DIFFICULT DECISION that when I move, kitty will go and live at the Rickety House. She is getting up there in years and I don't want to have her spend her last days cooped up in two rooms. At the Rickety house there will always be someone around to smack her ass(she loves that--she's a very kinky girl), and she will be able to run around outside, and she will be able to chase mice. And I will really be able to walk over to visit her anytime I want. So it's definitely the best decision, although there is something very selfish in me that will miss having her yell at me the minute I come in the door.

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com