Links

LUPEC
Rickety
madorange
radioio
Jilly
Quiet Storm
Roxie 77
wishlist!

Diaryland
Pittsburgh ?
Bi and Proud ?

Friday, Jun. 25, 2004

Jumpin Jehosephat!

So, I don't know how much of the cabinet saga I have revealed here for your pleasure. The story is, when I first called to make an appointment to look at this apartment, the nice lady Rachel told me that new cabinets had been ordered, but she didn't know when they would be here. When I came to look at the place the nice fellow Kenneth told me the same thing. So I waited for a while, and then finally I called and said "can I move in despite the new cabinets not being here?" and they said yes. So I did, and still no cabinets and no cabinets, and finally I figured that maybe there just weren't really going to be new cabinets. I decided I could suck it up and after a while I would just ask if I could strip and paint the ones that were here. (which were not all that bad, just very sticky from years of not being cleaned)

Then, suddenly last Tuesday, my honeygirl was hanging out in my new place when Doug arrives with the new cabinets. She was sorta stunned and said she didn't know about them, so he went away. I called the office and told them that I would love to have the new cabinets and would gladly empty out the old ones right away. So I came home and did that, and hung around and did some laundry and called off the bookstore so I could be here when Doug came back. But he didn't come back, so I called the office again and Kenneth said he would track Doug down. So then Doug came back, around 3, and measured the old cabinets and mumbled something about how the guy who was installing the cabinets put my cabinets in the wrong place. Oh boy.

So then a couple of days went by with some of the cabinets in the hallway, and no word from Doug or anybody.

So yesterday I called the office and Rachel told me what Doug had said, but then said that Doug could come by today and install my "base cabinets" and some of the top ones, but we would have to wait for the new wall cabinet to come in. Cool.

So this morning I emptied everything off the sink to make room for Doug to work, and I moved all the dishes to the bedroom floor. And then I went to work, and then I went on a totally pointless drive to Moon Township.(a long story, but there was an Arby's Roast Beef and Cheddar in it for me, so I didn't complain) Finally I got home and the cabinets were no longer in the hallway.

Aflutter with anticipation, I opened the door to see...one of the cabinets sitting in the hallway in my apartment. Boo. But rounding the corner, I see that all the stuff I had under the sink and in the silverware drawer is on my livingroom floor. AND THEN, I see that Doug has installed A WHOLE NEW SINK AND ALL NEW BOTTOM CABINETS. What?? I had no idea. The new sink is wonderful and stainless, which means that I will not have to worry about staining it with tumeric. The new faucet is one of those one handled lift up and over jobbies so I no longer have to worry about drips. And one of the overhead cabinets is installed, and there is a note from Doug that someone will be over to replaster so he can put up the others. I LOVE MY NEW LANDPEOPLE! I can't remember the last time I lived anywhere with so much NEWNESS--new carpet, new fridge, new cabinets....and soon, hopefully, a new medicine cabinet. The one I have now is rusting on the bottom and flaking off into my toothbrush.

Also--today I got my blue octopus tub appliques. Can life get any better? You tell me.

Site by Jilly

Get an email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com